The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Obs/int

(FP) Batter chops a lazy bunt right in front of home plate where it dies. F2 springs up to retrieve ball as batter, (now BR) exits the batter's box to run to first. They collide, falling to the ground. OBS or INT?
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
OBS or INT?
I pick "C": None of the above.

Live ball, play on!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
sigh
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
its INT. (assuming NFHS)
Batter/runner interfered with a fielder on initial attempt (doesn't matter if its accidental or intentional)
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.

Last edited by CajunNewBlue; Thu Feb 05, 2009 at 02:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
its INT. (assuming NFHS)
Batter/runner interfered with a fielder on initial attempt (doesn't matter if its accidental or intentional)
This assumes that the ball is near the fielder, no? If it's halfway down the line they aren't making the initial play yet?
________
Web shows

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:40pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
This assumes that the ball is near the fielder, no? If it's halfway down the line they aren't making the initial play yet?
"Batter chops a lazy bunt right in front of home plate where it dies."
No, i am not assuming its anywhere but there.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
sigh
Ummm? Belch?

The interpretation I offered has been supported by the NFHS in the past. I am not aware of it having been changed or redefined since then.

Finding it documented might be a different story. Never one to base a ruling on "because I said so", I will assume the burden of proof to find said documentation and post it here if found.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
Ummm? Belch?

The interpretation I offered has been supported by the NFHS in the past. I am not aware of it having been changed or redefined since then.

Finding it documented might be a different story. Never one to base a ruling on "because I said so", I will assume the burden of proof to find said documentation and post it here if found.
LOL... no wasnt sighing like that... I find these questions difficult. did one of those thinking cap sighs
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
I copied this from a past post by WMB on the NFHS forum:

"You’ve seen the direction the NFHS has been heading the past few years with respect to contact between a fielder and runner. For the most part, they have taken away incidental contact (train wreck) and are forcing you to call either interference or obstruction.

There are, however a couple areas where you still can call incidental contact. One occurs when a defender has the ball and steps into the runner or in front of the runner. You have contact either as the result of a tag play, or the runner had no opportunity to avoid the contact. If the defender loses the ball you probably have Safe; if they hang on you probably have an Out. But you do not have Obs or Int.

The other incident occurs within the first step or two by a RH batter going to 1B and a catcher going for the bunt. If you have contact you may judge interference, or may judge obstruction, but you can also have a no call (incidental contact). From the NFHS SB Committee: “ It’s a fair statement to make that the play situation involving a catcher moving to field a bunt in front of the plate while the BR vacates and heads toward first has always been given wider latitude regarding obstruction/interference.”

Also see pg 46 in your 2006/07 Umpires manual."
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
Ummm? Belch?

The interpretation I offered has been supported by the NFHS in the past. I am not aware of it having been changed or redefined since then.

Finding it documented might be a different story. Never one to base a ruling on "because I said so", I will assume the burden of proof to find said documentation and post it here if found.
hrmmm if they support the first OP as a wreck... I wonder how they would feel about this one?
R1, batter hits a blooper 3 feet left of first base and the ball lands and dies there due to a sandy or soft infield. F3 who is a 2 steps left of first base and one step back of baseline, moves to pick it up. R1 leaves first base to advance to second base. R1 and F3 collide. (I'm calling this INT until told otherwise)
heck, I could make two more similar plays all the way around the bases. then we could have 4 total plays.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
"If you have contact you may judge interference, or may judge obstruction, but you can also have a no call (incidental contact)."

cool a three'fer!

I dunno, im still prone to thinking that the runner has the responsibility of avoiding the fielder and the ball... specially since being tagged with it ends her trip real fast.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.

Last edited by CajunNewBlue; Thu Feb 05, 2009 at 04:58pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 04:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
F3 and R do not start the play (generally speaking) in as close a proximity to each other as F2 and B and R as an opportunity to react to the ball (generally speaking).
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1