The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 11:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Ok, now Im confused. Taking the NFHS test and one of the questions is throw to F3 pulls her off the bag and impedes the batter/runner to 1st base. The rule book states that other than the initial play on a batted ball, any defensive player that impedes the progress of a runner or batter/runner has committed obstruction.

But, during one of our clinics the instructors just told everyone that if a throw pulls F3 into the path of the batter/runner, you have nothing but a train wreck because both players were doing what they were suppose to do. So what is the correct answer on the test?
Did F3 have possession of the ball? The question, as you wrote it here, doesn't quite clarify if she caught the errant throw or not.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 07:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Thats the exact wording from the question on the test. It doesnt say she did catch the ball, or that she didnt catch the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 09:30am
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
Obstruction, no longer any more train wrecks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tex View Post
Obstruction, no longer any more train wrecks.
Good luck with that. You have just decided that you are more important the game.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 05:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
NFHS 2009 Case Book
Quote:
8.2.5 SITUATION C: With no outs and no runners on base, B1’s third strike is
dropped and the ball rolls into foul territory. F3 steps on first base to receive the
throw from F2 while B1 runs in fair territory to the base. F2’s throw is errant and
draws F3 back in fair territory. This causes B1 to slow down. The errant throw
then hits B1 in the back. RULING: Obstruction on F3. COMMENT: The ruling is the
same for a double or single first base. (8-2-6; 8-4-3b)
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 05:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texasbock View Post
Good luck with that. You have just decided that you are more important the game.
How do you figure? When it comes to OBS, there shouldn't be any train wrecks. How is that placing an individual ahead of the game?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
How do you figure? When it comes to OBS, there shouldn't be any train wrecks. How is that placing an individual ahead of the game?
Within the context of the casebook and what has been discussed, there is no train wreck. This is clearly OBS.
No possession of ball and causing the runner to hesitate is the very definition of obstruction. I am not arguing that.

What I was arguing was that train wrecks do happen at times outside of the context of this case book example, and it is highly possible that there is no call at all in those circumstances.

I think I was too hasty in my response.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texasbock View Post
Within the context of the casebook and what has been discussed, there is no train wreck. This is clearly OBS.
No possession of ball and causing the runner to hesitate is the very definition of obstruction. I am not arguing that.

What I was arguing was that train wrecks do happen at times outside of the context of this case book example, and it is highly possible that there is no call at all in those circumstances.

I think I was too hasty in my response.
While I can see the principle that you are arguing, you should also be aware that ASA and NFHS are saying that there are no contexts in which wrecks exist. They are wanting us to either apply INT or OBS when a collision happens.

Yes, I know the possible scenarios, have even posed one myself that has been ruled INT by one clinician and OBS by another. But, we have to vigilant and do our best to enforce the rules the way the associations are asking us to.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction.... blindofficial Baseball 20 Thu Apr 05, 2007 01:31am
Obstruction BigUmp56 Baseball 48 Sun Jan 08, 2006 05:57pm
Obstruction or an out? Rachel Softball 6 Mon Apr 14, 2003 04:10pm
Obstruction? buddymoran Softball 13 Sat Apr 05, 2003 01:08pm
Obstruction? greymule Softball 7 Tue Jul 30, 2002 03:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1