The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 04, 2002, 06:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by backerma
This should be an easy one but it has caused some confusion at our game the other night. On a ground rule double how many bases is given to a runner that is on first at the time? The umpire ruled that because the runner was between second and third when the ball went out of play then by his judgement the runner should score or be allowed three bases. Is this an area open for umpire judgement or should all runners be allowed only two bases?

Thanks.

What if the BR became a runner before the ball entered DBT? Would that umpire then award that player 3B?

If so, then it is no longer a ground-rule double, is it? Like Steve said, no judgment, just two bases from the time of the pitch.



__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1