The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2002, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
"The first baseman is standing on 1st base when he receives the throw from the 2nd baseman and he tags the runner who started at 1st, but after the runer safely got back to 1st."

Looks as if this was the defining moment. At that point, the batter was put out, which removed the force on the runner who started at first. Therefore, since the tag on that runner came after he got back to 1B, he is safe. Any play after that simply results in what it results in: a runner on 2B. If F3 had been sharp, he would have tagged the runner and then stepped on first to put them both out.

Keep in mind that though the batter had touched 1B, when he retreated toward home, the force on him was reinstated.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1