The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Did anybody see... (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/49499-did-anybody-see.html)

IRISHMAFIA Thu Oct 23, 2008 08:28pm

Did anybody see...
 
...the guy behind the plate in the WS make a move that would get him crucified here, or for that matter, anywhere?

Rings up the Rays' batter and while his right hand is in the air, points to U1 who promptly give a safe signal.

On top of that, the pitch looked damn good without the swing.

BTW, I'm convinced the Fox pitch locator is showing where the ball is caught.

SethPDX Thu Oct 23, 2008 09:12pm

I didn't see this, but....whaaaat???:confused:

I have no idea what that mechanic would be about. Then again, MLB guys have the job security of a Supreme Court justice, so they basically get to signal however they want (but we all know that:)).

The umpire, BTW, is Kerwin Danley, and it's good to see he's recovered nicely from taking that pitch off the jaw earlier this year.

JEL Thu Oct 23, 2008 09:22pm

I saw it and am still not really sure what he did!

In one way it seemed he rang up the strike, or was in the process of doing so, then "pointed" the BR to first.

But it also looked as if he asked for a check of his strike call.

Not only did the pitch look good to me, I had a swing by the batter!

Must be a lot of nerves running wild while plating a WS game. That's all I can figure.

topper Thu Oct 23, 2008 09:43pm

Absolutely horrible! There is no doubt in my mind what his original signal conveyed: STRIKE. Nerves cannot, and should not be a factor at this level. Inexplicable!

IRISHMAFIA Thu Oct 23, 2008 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JEL (Post 545308)
In one way it seemed he rang up the strike, or was in the process of doing so, then "pointed" the BR to first.

But it also looked as if he asked for a check of his strike call.

And I could buy that IF he didn't raise his right hand by his right ear before coming up and then after standing pointed to first like an afterthought when the batter began to head that way.

JEL Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 545319)
And I could buy that IF he didn't raise his right hand by his right ear before coming up and then after standing pointed to first like an afterthought when the batter began to head that way.

Yeah, but something else that is confusing is (haven't seen him do a called third strike) when he does his "normal" strike signal he looks as if he is punching the catchers back! What he did on this call was definitely strange.

I imagine replays are already posted somewhere on the net!

socalumps Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:11pm

Holy ****.....could he have possibly been human......and had an afterthought...made a mistake??

Heaven forbid!!

"We are expected to be perfect and then get better after that!!"

IRISHMAFIA Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by socalumps (Post 545325)
Holy ****.....could he have possibly been human......and had an afterthought...made a mistake??

Heaven forbid!!

"We are expected to be perfect and then get better after that!!"

LOL! No kidding, Willie. He sure did. But something just dosn't seem right. This guy also likes to check his indicator often. And he does use a regular hammer on a swinging strike. When was the last time you checked with your partner on a called swinging strike?

This is Kerwin Danley who was the same guy who was run into by a fielder while watching a foul ball in the ALCS.

Ouch! And not he just missed a HBP. Yeah, this guy is human, but too human for what someone in a group that some believe are the best in the world. ;)

socalumps Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 545339)
LOL! No kidding, Willie. He sure did. But something just dosn't seem right. This guy also likes to check his indicator often. And he does use a regular hammer on a swinging strike. When was the last time you checked with your partner on a called swinging strike?

This is Kerwin Danley who was the same guy who was run into by a fielder while watching a foul ball in the ALCS.

Ouch! And not he just missed a HBP. Yeah, this guy is human, but too human for what someone in a group that some believe are the best in the world. ;)

The best in the world are not human willie. What are they then??

But I agree...it looked like on slow mo instant replay that the ball hit Rollins Jersey!!

I would take his assignments!!! lol

bkbjones Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:40am

Holy Sheepdip Batman! Must be a good reason why he worked MLB for something like 12 years before getting his first World Serious...

Like changing his mind on K3. I almost messed myself when I saw that. At least it was only on worldwide television -- and now available on the 'net.

Just think: if they started their positions so the crew chief, Tim Welke, was the best umpire, and Danley is second best, then that sixth game HP umpire must be one of our SP umps with a one-foot-long leash on his leg.

whiskers_ump Fri Oct 24, 2008 04:13am

I agree with all that say it was terrible. Then later missed the HBP.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Oct 24, 2008 07:17am

Yes, he is human and he is making mistakes like we all have. So are we, yet we routinely critique each other's interpretations or mechanics and occassional performance.

Just because this guy umpires in the major league does not exempt him from criticism. If anything, with his contract and financial demands, his performance should be scrutinized even more so. Do you think that if he watches the game he isn't going to critique his own work? Do you think he may not have already had a discussion with someone concerning last night's game?

We all know when we screw up and the better umpires work to insure that mistake does not occur again. I just hope Danley doesn't take the attitude that he made a mistake and it is no big deal. It should be a big deal, but to the umpire more than anyone else.

Skahtboi Fri Oct 24, 2008 08:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 545293)
...the guy behind the plate in the WS make a move that would get him crucified here, or for that matter, anywhere?

Rings up the Rays' batter and while his right hand is in the air, points to U1 who promptly give a safe signal.

On top of that, the pitch looked damn good without the swing..

Yes. And I was embarrassed for him. You could tell by the look on his face when he took that his helmask off that he knew he had effed up.

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 545293)
...BTW, I'm convinced the Fox pitch locator is showing where the ball is caught.

Ehh...you may be right....I don't know. The pitch looked like it could go either way on the outside. However, I was suprised at just how far out the locator showed it.

CajunNewBlue Fri Oct 24, 2008 08:31am

Ive looked with no sucess.... how the h@ll does the pitch locator thing work? anyone have any links to this (and no, detailed schematics and parts lists are not needed... lol)

NCASAUmp Fri Oct 24, 2008 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue (Post 545419)
Ive looked with no sucess.... how the h@ll does the pitch locator thing work? anyone have any links to this (and no, detailed schematics and parts lists are not needed... lol)

Probably something like this...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1