The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Did anybody see... (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/49499-did-anybody-see.html)

CajunNewBlue Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 545429)
Probably something like this...

hrmmm ..now i know even less than before. :) but, thanks. I mean could they be less vague? array of switches? pulse stretcher? ...well anyways the d@mn thing ive watched on tv is not very accurate.

JefferMC Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:29am

From what I can tell from the description, this patent describes an electonic version of the "mat."

IRISHMAFIA Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 545429)
Probably something like this...

That is nothing more than mat ball with a speaker.

NCASAUmp Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JefferMC (Post 545509)
From what I can tell from the description, this patent describes an electonic version of the "mat."

Yep. Just another case of me being a smart-a$$. :D

IRISHMAFIA Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 545535)
That is nothing more than mat ball with a speaker.

More like this:

Tracking Pitches Using Video Technology

bkbjones Fri Oct 24, 2008 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 545429)
Probably something like this...

This patent contains a, er, patently false statement:

"Before the ball reaches the ground, it is usually caught by a catcher." (emphasis added)

BS. Not in most of my SP games.

NCASAUmp Fri Oct 24, 2008 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones (Post 545588)
This patent contains a, er, patently false statement:

"Before the ball reaches the ground, it is usually caught by a catcher." (emphasis added)

BS. Not in most of my SP games.

Exactly why I wear shinguards. I don't care if it's SP or not, that ball ALWAYS finds the same spot on my shin bones!

Though last night, I called a local league's SP Co-ed B Championship game behind the plate, and the catcher from the home team was awesome. Only 3 or 4 got by her all night. 7 innings, final score was 28-25. She was damn good.

bkbjones Fri Oct 24, 2008 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 545592)
Exactly why I wear shinguards. I don't care if it's SP or not, that ball ALWAYS finds the same spot on my shin bones!

Though last night, I called a local league's SP Co-ed B Championship game behind the plate, and the catcher from the home team was awesome. Only 3 or 4 got by her all night. 7 innings, final score was 28-25. She was damn good.

Great! How was she as a catcher?

NCASAUmp Fri Oct 24, 2008 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones (Post 545594)
Great! How was she as a catcher?

Trust me, you'd have been barking up the wrong tree with this catcher. She makes no attempts to hide it. :)

SethPDX Fri Oct 24, 2008 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones (Post 545372)
Holy Sheepdip Batman! Must be a good reason why he worked MLB for something like 12 years before getting his first World Serious...

Like changing his mind on K3. I almost messed myself when I saw that. At least it was only on worldwide television -- and now available on the 'net.

Just think: if they started their positions so the crew chief, Tim Welke, was the best umpire, and Danley is second best, then that sixth game HP umpire must be one of our SP umps with a one-foot-long leash on his leg.

Not so. Tim Tschida would have the dish in Game 6, is a crew chief during the season, and has been to the Series before. For the postseason MLB sets the rotation so that a regular season crew chief would work the plate in Game 6 because it will always be an elimination game. And of course, the series crew chief would have the plate for a possible Game 7.

I know you were kidding around a little; just wanted to explain it to those who might not know.

You are on to something, though: With a crew of 6 the SP umpire you mentioned could get by with his mobility.:p

bkbjones Fri Oct 24, 2008 06:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SethPDX (Post 545608)
Not so. Tim Tschida would have the dish in Game 6, is a crew chief during the season, and has been to the Series before. For the postseason MLB sets the rotation so that a regular season crew chief would work the plate in Game 6 because it will always be an elimination game. And of course, the series crew chief would have the plate for a possible Game 7.

I know you were kidding around a little; just wanted to explain it to those who might not know.

You are on to something, though: With a crew of 6 the SP umpire you mentioned could get by with his mobility.:p

The hardest working guy on a 6-man crew is usually whoever is working 2B provided the crew chief wants him to go out on fly balls to CF.

I was hoping we'd see a crew working the playoffs that included Gorman, Wendelstedt, DiMuro and Welke. Maybe sometime soon.

SRW Sat Oct 25, 2008 08:31am

MLB's response to the strike/ball call.

Interesting to note in this article, tho: (bolded parts are my emphasis)


Quote:

Jimmie Lee Solomon, MLB's executive vice president of baseball operations, said that Danley had ruled ball four before asking Culbreth for help.

"The clear action was that the umpire, Kerwin Danley, audibly said, 'Ball,'" Solomon said. "There was also a checked swing. In his effort to point down to first base and the first-base umpire, he made a confusing mechanical gesture with his arm. He admits that the mechanic he used was a little bit confusing."

Mike Port, MLB's vice president of umpiring, also acknowledged momentary confusion. Though Danley told Port he had verbally called a ball, Phillies manager Charlie Manuel never heard the "ball" call and briefly argued with Danley, while Myers looked in to ask what had happened.

"His intention was to go to first base for help on the half-swing, on a pitch that he had called a ball," Port said. "He just started off with the wrong signal or mechanic, and quickly tried to correct it by going to first."
And this is exactly why we give audible ball calls.

;):mad:

whiskers_ump Sat Oct 25, 2008 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 545539)


Too technical for me. All I want to know is, was the pitch hitable. If so,
STRIKE.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Oct 25, 2008 09:42am

MLB's response to the strike/ball call.

Quote:

Jimmie Lee Solomon, MLB's executive vice president of baseball operations, said that Danley had ruled ball four before asking Culbreth for help.

"The clear action was that the umpire, Kerwin Danley, audibly said, 'Ball,'" Solomon said. "There was also a checked swing. In his effort to point down to first base and the first-base umpire, he made a confusing mechanical gesture with his arm. He admits that the mechanic he used was a little bit confusing."
Rubbish. This explanation is weak, how can it be "clear" about something which is being explained as "confusing" The mechanic he used was the same as every other swinging strike during the game. Nothing was clear about anything in the scenario.

Quote:

Mike Port, MLB's vice president of umpiring, also acknowledged momentary confusion. Though Danley told Port he had verbally called a ball, Phillies manager Charlie Manuel never heard the "ball" call and briefly argued with Danley, while Myers looked in to ask what had happened.

"His intention was to go to first base for help on the half-swing, on a pitch that he had called a ball," Port said. "He just started off with the wrong signal or mechanic, and quickly tried to correct it by going to first."
This explanation is much better, but I don't believe for a second that his "intention" was to go for help until he realized his error. Granted, this comment is for the ignorant (fans & media), but how many umpires do you know who wanted have accepted a simple, "brain fart, he said ball and gave a strike signal." And if it wasn't ball four, how many would have really noticed other than the pitcher, catcher and batter?

Quote:

And this is exactly why we give audible ball calls.

;):mad:
Yep, but better timing may have helped :rolleyes:

bkbjones Sun Oct 26, 2008 09:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW (Post 545720)
And this is exactly why we give audible ball calls.

And that, my friends, is why SRW wears a steel cup. If your balls were audible, you would too.:eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1