The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 14, 2008, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Canada vs China

Obstruction or not? Not like the fielder could just dissapear from the baseline after dropping ball. Not to mention, was just a fraction of a second, dropped it, immediatly picked it back up and tagged her again.

Also, anyone catch the field ump like 2 plays before that was standing directly in the throwing lane on the possible pick off from catch to 2nd?

Last edited by RKBUmp; Thu Aug 14, 2008 at 11:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 14, 2008, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp
Obstruction or not? Not like the fielder could just dissapear from the baseline after dropping ball. Not to mention, was just a fraction of a second, dropped it, immediatly picked it back up and tagged her again.

Also, anyone catch the field like 2 plays before that was standing directly in the throwing lane on the possible pick off from catch to 2nd?

I think on the obs ...I have a nothing? Both seemed to be doing what they should have done....all at once! Or there a bouts!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 15, 2008, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalumps
I think on the obs ...I have a nothing? Both seemed to be doing what they should have done....all at once! Or there a bouts!!
Where is "doing what she should" in the obstruction rule? The fielder chose that position, did not possess the ball, and hindered the runner. That's obstruction.

Want to avoid obstruction? Simple. Don't be where you hinder the runner, or else have possession of the ball. She did neither, so she wasn't doing what she should.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 15, 2008, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp
Obstruction or not? Not like the fielder could just dissapear from the baseline after dropping ball. Not to mention, was just a fraction of a second, dropped it, immediatly picked it back up and tagged her again.

Also, anyone catch the field ump like 2 plays before that was standing directly in the throwing lane on the possible pick off from catch to 2nd?
She dropped it; her bad. Now she can't legally hinder the runner. as long as she hindered the runner before she did have possession, obstruction is the obvious call.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 15, 2008, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
She dropped it; her bad. Now she can't legally hinder the runner. as long as she hindered the runner before she did have possession, obstruction is the obvious call.
Does the international rule still recognize "about to receive"?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 15, 2008, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
I don't know how current this is, but I couldn't find anything changing it.

ISF 8.7.b

b. When a fielder prevents the runner from making a base, or impedes the progress of a runner or batter-runner
who is legally running bases; if the fielder is
1. Not in possession of the ball, or
2. Not in the act of fielding a batted ball, or
3. Making a fake tag without the ball.
4. In possession of the ball and he pushes a runner off a base in an attempt to gain an out, or
5. In possession of the ball, but not in the act of making a play on the runner which intentionally impedes the
progresso0f that runner or batter-runner who is legally running the bases.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 15, 2008, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Does the international rule still recognize "about to receive"?
I believe ISF may have changed before or about the same time as ASA.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 15, 2008, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Does the international rule still recognize "about to receive"?
I believe ISF may have changed before or about the same time as ASA.
If she dropped the ball and was picking it back up, wouldn't it have to be "about to retrieve?" LOL
__________________
Matt
Not an official,
just a full-time dad,
part-time coach,
here to learn.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
China vs Venezuela IRISHMAFIA Softball 32 Fri Aug 15, 2008 02:58pm
USA v China Scrapper1 Basketball 14 Mon Aug 11, 2008 05:21pm
U.S.A. against CHINA spyros Football 0 Fri Sep 29, 2006 06:27am
USA - China Taipai IRISHMAFIA Softball 3 Sat Aug 28, 2004 12:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1