The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 22, 2002, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by shipwreck
I have almost completed the ASA test. (1 or 2 left) My question is #74. After an inside-the-park homerun, an umpire can nullify that run because of runner assistance. T or F? A umpire friend of mine says False because we would nullify it at the time of the infraction, not AFTER the homerun. Is he putting TOO much into this question or is he correct? I have never ever scored a 100% on any test either ASA or Fed. and I don't expect to now but would appreciate any help. Thanks, Dave
Your friend is reading too much into the play. He cannot nullify a run that hasn't scored yet, can he? The answer is True and is based on 8.8.E.

Since the ball remains alive when a runner is physically assisted, the other runners may continue to run assuming this was not the third out of the half-inning. Remember, this is a non-specific true/false question. The statement as it stands alone is true.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1