The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 11, 2008, 07:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Talking Never saw this before....

Had the pleasure of working a championship game with a umpire whom IMHO has seen it all and done it all and I respect greatly... so long story short, I am in C, he has plate... 2 strikes on the batter, pitch comes in and is fouled directly back to the catcher whom doesn't touch it except for the fact she catches it in flight with her knees. PU calls it foul... light chirping from the defensive dugout. He sells it (I close my gaping mouth "I was amazed that she actually caught it like that) and we proceed to finish the game. Now the confusing part...
Walking out we meet up with the UIC, PU says to UIC "I think i kicked that foul ball /foul tip call" he agrees... I chime in "I never saw that before" mouth still gaping.
Ok, so 4 days later i think back on it,( I am at dinner with 2 coaches who both think the batter is out on foul tip strike 3) then I goto work and ask a coach here and he has her out on foul tip strike 3.(I have way too many coaches in my personal life ) 3 coaches thinking opposite of me? I wasn't gonna have it. So... I look in rulebooks/case books for FED, PONY, OBR (I need to buy a ASA book) both baseball and softball. And as far as i can tell he got it right at the plate. Foul tip must go directly and sharply to the catchers mitt. Is this correct or did I miss something just to be right.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 11, 2008, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
I think there is a hand in there. Sharply and directly to the hand or glove and be controlled. Other than that no you got it right. Now what I would question is if that was a caught foul ball. Since it didn't go sharply and directly to the glove it can't be a foul tip.....but it could be a foul ball. And if she didn't catch it in her equipment and got control prior to it reaching the ground could it be a controlled catch?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 11, 2008, 08:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
ASA - Because it didn't go directly to the glove or hand, it can't be a foul tip. Since she caught it between her knees, then grabbed the ball and had it controlled before it ever got to the ground, well... I hate to say it, but that sounds like it can only be a foul ball that was caught. I have an out.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 11, 2008, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
You could have fifty coaches tell you this is a foul tip...and they would all still be wrong!

The umpire had it right on his first call. No need to second guess himself here- this is a simple foul ball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 11, 2008, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Did she pick up the ball from between her knees before it touched the ground? I was assuming she did. If so, caught foul ball. If she let it drop, just a foul ball.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 11, 2008, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
NCASAUmp, it cannot be a catch (caught foul ball) if it went sharp and direct back toward the catcher. Sharp and direct to the catcher can be a foul tip (if it goes to the hand or mitt first) or a foul ball, but not a catch for an out.

CajunNewBlue, whom taught you grammar?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 11, 2008, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
NCASAUmp, it cannot be a catch (caught foul ball) if it went sharp and direct back toward the catcher. Sharp and direct to the catcher can be a foul tip (if it goes to the hand or mitt first) or a foul ball, but not a catch for an out.

CajunNewBlue, whom taught you grammar?
Ah... I had a different image in my mind. You're right.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 11, 2008, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern Ont.
Posts: 92
All I have on this is a foul tip "foul ball." It does not meet the requirements to be a foul tip strike nor does it meet the requirements of a foul fly ball for an out. Unless I'm missing something here, which has happened before.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1