The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2008, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 164
F2 drops ball on tag while blocking plate

Tourney yesterday. On play at plate, F2 gets the ball ahead of runner. She legally blocks plate, runner slides tag is made and runner's momentum causes F2 to drop the ball. F2, having gone to her knees to make the initial tag attempt is now on the ground blocking the plate with the ball easily within her reach on the ground. The runner quickly (and smartly) reaches around F2 and touches the plate just before F2 can pick up the ball and tag her. So I have "safe."

I asked my partner after the game if he thought this would be OBS if it were the other way around and F2 had tagged the runner before the touch. He said that is considered a trainwreck and would not have been OBS.

I'm not sure I agree, but would like to hear other opinions.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2008, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTQ_Blue
...I asked my partner after the game if he thought this would be OBS if it were the other way around and F2 had tagged the runner before the touch. ...
At the point F2 lost possession of the ball, she can no longer legally impede the runner. If she did that, that is obstruction, whether she was able to tag the runner or not.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2008, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTQ_Blue
Tourney yesterday. On play at plate, F2 gets the ball ahead of runner. She legally blocks plate, runner slides tag is made and runner's momentum causes F2 to drop the ball. F2, having gone to her knees to make the initial tag attempt is now on the ground blocking the plate with the ball easily within her reach on the ground. The runner quickly (and smartly) reaches around F2 and touches the plate just before F2 can pick up the ball and tag her. So I have "safe."

I asked my partner after the game if he thought this would be OBS if it were the other way around and F2 had tagged the runner before the touch. He said that is considered a trainwreck and would not have been OBS.

I'm not sure I agree, but would like to hear other opinions.
I would say yes as long as the runner was actually impeded. IOW, the runner would have to make an effort to reach the plate AFTER the ball came loose.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2008, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 77
The slightest attempt by the runner to get to home plate, I have OBS.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2008, 07:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Make no call on this, life is good.

So stand fast, make no call.. if there is the scramble, let it play out, as you did.

Get goofy and start calling OBS on this play and something goes crappy.. and there is hell to pay.

I have no call. He who gets to the plate/gets the out first wins.

If something happens that is bad, say Catcher holds runner or something weird, you can always throw the arm out.

Let them play ball.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2008, 08:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
Make no call on this, life is good.

So stand fast, make no call.. if there is the scramble, let it play out, as you did.

Get goofy and start calling OBS on this play and something goes crappy.. and there is hell to pay.

I have no call. He who gets to the plate/gets the out first wins.

If something happens that is bad, say Catcher holds runner or something weird, you can always throw the arm out.

Let them play ball.
Amen Brother Wade. I can take the hell that is due on a controversial call but calling OBS on this...not good. Both players have a right to be where they are.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2008, 08:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
Amen Brother Wade. ...Both players have a right to be where they are.
True, as far as it goes, but blocking the base with possession of the ball carries with it the risk that possesion will be lost due to legal contact, leaving the defender still blocking the base, but now without possession of the ball. If the defender persists in impeding the runner to, for example, give her time to retrieve the ball and make the tag, that is obstruction, whether you two are willing to make the call or not.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Mon Jul 07, 2008 at 08:40pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blocking the plate Forest Ump Baseball 11 Wed May 28, 2008 02:34pm
Infield Fly Rule - Ball Drops ballingbob Baseball 36 Fri May 04, 2007 11:09pm
Shooter Unintentionally Drops the Ball cshs81 Basketball 27 Sun Dec 24, 2006 12:48pm
Ball drops after passing hip. Rattlehead Softball 5 Wed Aug 17, 2005 08:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1