The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 11:50am
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
The other umpire was correct. Third base and home are both the plate umpires calls. If there was a play at third, (sounds like there was) the plate umpire should have gotten inside for a call at third. When the overthrow occurred your partner should have stayed inside and gone home for the call. rwest is also correct in that if you deviate from prescribed mechanics you communicate. If the play was covered well and you communicated this change could work.

Last edited by Ed Maeder; Thu Jun 26, 2008 at 11:54am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Agree that by the book you were wrong.

However if you pre-game this, communicate it when it happens, and there are for sure no trailing runners then you can make it work. There are times you can deviate from the manual but it has to be done very carefully and all have to know it is happening.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2008, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 297
My only problem...

with this is what happens if now you have a snap throw behind the runner at 1st base? Who covers that? BU at the plate and PU at 3rd?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1