The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
The 3rd base umpire will have started in between first and second off the right shoulder of the 2nd baseman.
With a single runner at 1st, U3 has one and only one base; 2nd. U3 does not care where 2B plays; U3 should stand in calling position 10-12 feet from 2nd, in a direct line of the front edge of 2nd and 3rd extended, where the call can be made without "getting into position".

When the ball is hit, U3 can adjust to the angle of a force throw, or buttonhook from that starting position; no reason to be off the shoulder of 2B, as no initial infield play will give U3 calling responsibility anywhere but 2nd.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Yep

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
With a single runner at 1st, U3 has one and only one base; 2nd. U3 does not care where 2B plays; U3 should stand in calling position 10-12 feet from 2nd, in a direct line of the front edge of 2nd and 3rd extended, where the call can be made without "getting into position".

When the ball is hit, U3 can adjust to the angle of a force throw, or buttonhook from that starting position; no reason to be off the shoulder of 2B, as no initial infield play will give U3 calling responsibility anywhere but 2nd.
I stand corrected! Thanks!
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
So I'm ump at 2B extended. R1 at 1B. We have a fly ball. No one goes out. Runner tags.

If defensive coach appeals, runner leaving early, I am assuming that would be my partners appreal to rule on since partner is responsible for tag ups at 1B ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Actually

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
With a single runner at 1st, U3 has one and only one base; 2nd. U3 does not care where 2B plays; U3 should stand in calling position 10-12 feet from 2nd, in a direct line of the front edge of 2nd and 3rd extended, where the call can be made without "getting into position".

When the ball is hit, U3 can adjust to the angle of a force throw, or buttonhook from that starting position; no reason to be off the shoulder of 2B, as no initial infield play will give U3 calling responsibility anywhere but 2nd.
Depending on what happens on the play he could be responsible for 1st. If U1rotates home, he is responsible for both 1st and 2nd. But I agree with your main point on where the U3 should be positioned.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
Depending on what happens on the play he could be responsible for 1st. If U1rotates home, he is responsible for both 1st and 2nd. But I agree with your main point on where the U3 should be positioned.
If that happens (U1 rotates home), it would not be an "initial infield play", the phrase I used to attempt to qualify my statement.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
I got it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
If that happens (U1 rotates home), it would not be an "initial infield play", the phrase I used to attempt to qualify my statement.
Initially U3 only has 2nd, but on a subsequent play his responsibilities may change based on U1 rotating home.

Got it!

Thanks!
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1