The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 20, 2008, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
I believe with a runner on 1B only, U3 begins at a point of 3B-2B extended about 12 feet - not off F4's right shoulder.
Where did you get this positioning? I've checked all of my 3man power points and training material and I dont see 3b-2b extended. I was always taught to extend towards right center. 12ft 3-2b extended puts you farther back/deeper than I go.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 20, 2008, 11:22am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
Where did you get this positioning? I've checked all of my 3man power points and training material and I dont see 3b-2b extended. I was always taught to extend towards right center. 12ft 3-2b extended puts you farther back/deeper than I go.
Specifically:
- the NUS staff at the 2007 ASA Fast Pitch Camp in Georgia
- 2007 ASA Umpire Manual Pg. 255
- 2008 ASA Umpire Manual Pg. 221
- 2006 & 2007 NCAA Umpire Manuals Pg. 91

And I'm sure it's in my CCA manual, which at the moment is at home.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 20, 2008, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
Specifically:
- the NUS staff at the 2007 ASA Fast Pitch Camp in Georgia
- 2007 ASA Umpire Manual Pg. 255
- 2008 ASA Umpire Manual Pg. 221
- 2006 & 2007 NCAA Umpire Manuals Pg. 91

And I'm sure it's in my CCA manual, which at the moment is at home.
One variation in the CCA (NCAA) version. There, you set 6-9 feet, as they have determined the predominant play is the steal tag, not the (in my mind) obvious force on the lead runner. It has been stated (and I quote EA, EC and MM at the NCAA D1 Leadoff Classic) that not only is this the predominant play according their statistics, but that it is easier (or as easy, don't want to misquote) to step back to the force calling distance (because you must always adjust to the proper angle for the throw, anyway) than it is to step forward to the tag calling distance.

Sorry to hijack; this is one of my soapbox issues. Don't accept either the alleged statistic (asked for, but was treated as leper thereafter) nor the premise that moving in reverse on a play you are required to wait and read (ball is hit, see infielder field and make throw) is even remotely better than stepping forward into a play (steal or wild pitch) that you see coming all the way (on the pitch).
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 20, 2008, 07:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
Specifically:
- the NUS staff at the 2007 ASA Fast Pitch Camp in Georgia
Well I'll have to take your word for it since I wasnt there.

Quote:

- 2007 ASA Umpire Manual Pg. 255
- 2008 ASA Umpire Manual Pg. 221
No, actually, it doesnt say that or show 3b - 2b extended in the graphic. Nor does it show it in the NUS power point on 3 man.

Emily's hand out about 3 man mechanics shows towards right center, not towards 3b-2b extended, nor does it say that.

Dunno about the NCAA manual.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
Gonna be doing alot of 3 umpire games this weekend. So it's a good chance for me to get a little better at this. I'm going over page 228 and some of the info has me a little puzzled. I'm hoping for some clarification here.

R1 at 1B. we have a fly ball that neither ump goes out on. The book says the tag up responsibility is the 1B ump.

So what happens to the 3B ump who started the play in the B slot. Does he just hang around 2B and watch the play ?

It seems to me that you're gonna have 2 umps standing at 2B on this. I'm assuming I'm missing something here.

Feedback please....
Read page 221...explains it in more detail. U3 stays at 2B and prepares for any plays there. U3 has to be ready to make any call at 1B if U1 goes to cover HP.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
U1 watches the tag; if the play goes to 2nd, U3 has that play. U1 watches everything that happens at 1st, U3 watches everything that happens at 2nd. PU (if needed) rotates to 3rd, U1 then rotates home.

Just one umpire at 2nd.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref

R1 at 1B. we have a fly ball that neither ump goes out on. The book says the tag up responsibility is the 1B ump.
Don't confuse responsibility for the tag up at 1B with responsibility for the play at 2nd (should the runner attempt to advance).
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by argodad
Don't confuse responsibility for the tag up at 1B with responsibility for the play at 2nd (should the runner attempt to advance).
And thats what I did...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 297
Wouldn't it depend on...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
Gonna be doing alot of 3 umpire games this weekend. So it's a good chance for me to get a little better at this. I'm going over page 228 and some of the info has me a little puzzled. I'm hoping for some clarification here.

R1 at 1B. we have a fly ball that neither ump goes out on. The book says the tag up responsibility is the 1B ump.

So what happens to the 3B ump who started the play in the B slot. Does he just hang around 2B and watch the play ?

It seems to me that you're gonna have 2 umps standing at 2B on this. I'm assuming I'm missing something here.

Feedback please....
Where the ball was hit?

If I remember right (and I'm going from memory), if the ball is hit down the line at 3rd base on a fly would'nt that be the plate umpire's responsibility?

Again, from memory...the plate umpire will always have the "uncovered" base on fly ball responsibility. The umpire at 2nd will have coverage from left field to right field and the umpire at the "covered" base would have from the fielder to the line and beyond.

Of course all of this depends on your UIC. I've been to National Championship Tournaments where our UIC said "Just split it down the middle".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1