The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 13, 2008, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
R1 Walking "Steal"

I'll try my best to describe a situation that I saw at an ASA tourney 16U. The same team did this 3 times throughout the day.

R1, R3, no outs. After pitch leaves pitcher's hand, R1 begins walking (not running) towards 2B. The pitcher fakes a throw (from inside the circle), batter reverses direction and starts walking back to 1B. Pitcher fakes another throw, R1 reverses again, walking towards 2B. Pitcher finally throws ball, R3 breaks for home and makes it.

I assume this is legal, since F1 continued to "make a play" (fake throw). If, however, F1 had walked directly back to the pitcher's plate without making a play, would R1 have been out since she didn't "immediately" go to 2B? Or, would she be safe since she didn't change directions after F1 returned to circle?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 13, 2008, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwbuddy
The pitcher fakes a throw (from inside the circle), batter reverses direction and starts walking back to 1B. ... snip ...

... snip ... If, however, F1 had walked directly back to the pitcher's plate without making a play, would R1 have been out since she didn't "immediately" go to 2B? Or, would she be safe since she didn't change directions after F1 returned to circle?
The play does not indicate whether the runner did anything immediately or stop, other than reacting to the pitcher plays. But then your question asks "what if" none of that happened. Besides, on this forum, we use R1 as the lead runner, R2 next, R3 last if there are two others.

The rule: a runner can move in either direction, but once the pitcher has ball in circle (plate or not), the runner must "immediately" go one way or the other and not stop again until reaching the chosen base. If the runner did not change directions after pitcher has ball in circle, not a LBR violation, and can still change direction once or stop once.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 13, 2008, 09:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwbuddy
After pitch leaves pitcher's hand, R1 begins walking (not running) towards 2B. The pitcher fakes a throw (from inside the circle), batter reverses direction and starts walking back to 1B. Pitcher fakes another throw, R1 reverses again, walking towards 2B. Pitcher finally throws ball, R3 breaks for home and makes it.
Sounds like those ducks at the shooting gallery.
__________________
Matt
Not an official,
just a full-time dad,
part-time coach,
here to learn.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding a "good" video/DVD on 2 man mechanics" Linknblue Basketball 3 Mon Dec 10, 2007 09:55am
Can "FOUL" be made "FAIR"? PAT THE REF Baseball 60 Sat Feb 24, 2007 09:01pm
"Balk" or "Ball" johnnyg08 Baseball 9 Fri Aug 18, 2006 08:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1