The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
However, INT cannot be dismissed simply because the offense's transgression resulted in the ball heading toward a defender and I believe that is what some have done in this thread.
Agreed.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
For ASA Discussion Purposes:

On this play I am judging INT and I believe the only ruling you can support by rule is INT. This is not a blocked ball and I do not think there is justification for only killing the play unless you revert to 10.1 for whatever reason...

I am not nostradamus, so I must factor the fact that a retired offensive player intentionally altered the path of the ball while defense was attempting to make a play and in fact had a play. INT, R2 out, R3 to 2B and I become the hated blue for not the first time and wont be the last. This is Interference, plain and simple.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lincoln, CA (Near Sacramento)
Posts: 150
I'll go with the interference!!!!.....but!

When we call "DEAD BALL!". I've got interference on the "one with the bat" don't we also have an out? Wouldn't that be the closest one to home?
__________________
Wish I'da umped before I played. What a difference it would'a made!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linknblue
When we call "DEAD BALL!". I've got interference on the "one with the bat" don't we also have an out? Wouldn't that be the closest one to home?
yep... thats our out.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linknblue
When we call "DEAD BALL!". I've got interference on the "one with the bat" don't we also have an out? Wouldn't that be the closest one to home?
Point of clarification: R1 had already scored (she is the one who hit the ball with the bat) and there was no attempted play on R2 at the plate, the pitcher was trying to recover the ball to stop the runners, but she had no play on R2 or R3

If I called interference and called the girl with bat (R1) out, that ends the inning with R2 steaming for home and R3 rounding 3rd. The OC would have lost her mind and I had no idea if the rules justified an interference ruling or not.

based on this:
Quote:
INTERFERENCE. The act by an offensive player or team member, umpire or spectator that impedes, hinders, or confuses a defensive player attempting to execute a play. Contact is not necessary.
a case could be made for interference but it would be flimsy at best. All R1 did was tap the ball back towards the Pitcher with a bat, she didnt confuse her at all

After reading the excellent replies by both perspectives I feel like calling a dead ball and sending R2 back to 3rd and R3 back to 2nd I made the fairest decision.

Thanks for the replies
__________________
"Earl Strom is a throwback, a reminder of the days when the refs had colorful personalities, the days when war-horses like Mendy Rudolph, Norm Drucker, and a younger Earl Strom were called the father, the son, and the holy ghost.—Roy Firestone, sports commentator
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cajun Reff
If I called interference and called the girl with bat (R1) out, that ends the inning with R2 steaming for home and R3 rounding 3rd. The OC would have lost her mind and I had no idea if the rules justified an interference ruling or not.
I dont make my rulings based on reaction.

But I guess thats why I will leave a wake of crying girls lying on the field and laugh loudly while I do so...

Quote:
After reading the excellent replies by both perspectives I feel like calling a dead ball and sending R2 back to 3rd and R3 back to 2nd I made the fairest decision.
Maybe you did... for Utrip. Maybe they dont have a rule governing it, maybe you can just make stuff up so you dont make a coach mad.

ASA, the only justification for a non call would be Mike's point.. leaving it live would hurt more than the INT call. In other words, you wouldnt want the INT to punish the defense. The OC can go kick rocks because its the OC's fault. No one cares about her, this is her problem.

I doubt the non-call would apply to this scenario. There are no rules to justify killing it and putting the runners back. The only things that can be supported by rule IMO are INT or non-call.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem

But I guess thats why I will leave a wake of crying girls lying on the field and laugh loudly while I do so...
What do you mean "will"? Don't you mean "already have"?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 29, 2008, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
USSSA Rule Book...Rule 8 Baserunning. Section 18 Any runner is out when...

AC. When the offensive team causes a blocked ball.
EFFECT: The runner closest to home is out.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 29, 2008, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
What do you mean "will"? Don't you mean "already have"?
...and will again.....bwaahahahahahaha........
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
For ASA Discussion Purposes:

On this play I am judging INT and I believe the only ruling you can support by rule is INT. This is not a blocked ball and I do not think there is justification for only killing the play unless you revert to 10.1 for whatever reason...

I am not nostradamus, so I must factor the fact that a retired offensive player intentionally altered the path of the ball while defense was attempting to make a play and in fact had a play. INT, R2 out, R3 to 2B and I become the hated blue for not the first time and wont be the last. This is Interference, plain and simple.
There is also the point that the offense should know better than to touch a live ball. The offense screwed up this play, not the defense and if there was any possibility that there could have been a play......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interesting Play tzme415 Softball 5 Fri May 05, 2006 04:00pm
Another interesting play... Skahtboi Softball 8 Wed Oct 19, 2005 08:55am
interesting play! refTN Basketball 37 Fri Aug 26, 2005 04:26pm
Interesting Play heyblue Softball 9 Mon Oct 25, 2004 09:54pm
Interesting OOB Play Cornellref Basketball 10 Tue Apr 23, 2002 02:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1