The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 27, 2008, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 297
I stand corrected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Ump
I didn't followed this thread as it evolved, so I apologize for harping in late. The discussion has been very thought provoking.

One item that I seem to be reading differently than many is that I believe "precedence" means to have a higher priority, where "override" would mean to annul the first action. The rule book does not say INT overrides OBS, only takes precedence.

Since INT takes precedence over OBS, then I believe I agree with those that state: rule on the play with the INT and then give the offense the option of what to do on the catcher's OBS. The INT and OBS are not mutually exclusive.

Same in a situation where, for example, R1 might be OBS and R2 then INT. I would rule R2 out but still award R1 the proper base.

Obviously where R1 is OBS and then subsequently INT, R1 could not be called out and then awarded a base, so the INT takes precedence.

That's just my understanding of it.
Dan,

I'm with you on this one. R1 out on interference. Then enforce CO rule.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 27, 2008, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 83
So to break down the process.....

The play is killed after the interference. We call R1 out for Interference.
So far, so Good, everybody is happy

Then PU comes out and says, I have CO.

So we get together and enforce CO, which would give the coach the choice of taking the result of the play or putting BR on 1B and moving everybody that was forced to move up one base, which would put R1 on 2B

Do we agree on this, for the most part.

and either way, we got some explaining to do to a coach
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 27, 2008, 08:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 297
No!

Quote:
Originally Posted by umpharp
So to break down the process.....

The play is killed after the interference. We call R1 out for Interference.
So far, so Good, everybody is happy

Then PU comes out and says, I have CO.

So we get together and enforce CO, which would give the coach the choice of taking the result of the play or putting BR on 1B and moving everybody that was forced to move up one base, which would put R1 on 2B

Do we agree on this, for the most part.

and either way, we got some explaining to do to a coach
You'd still have R1 out on the interference.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeputyUICHousto
You'd still have R1 out on the interference.
I disagree. It has already been pointed out that context of 8-5B deals with obstruction of a runner, yet you quoted it with the "any" bolded as if they are absolutes. You state nothing as to why this should apply to CO. Without a cogent argument for this, I don't find it compelling.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by celebur
I disagree. It has already been pointed out that context of 8-5B deals with obstruction of a runner, yet you quoted it with the "any" bolded as if they are absolutes. You state nothing as to why this should apply to CO. Without a cogent argument for this, I don't find it compelling.
I'm not finding a compelling argument to ignore the note on 8-5B. The definition of obstruction refers to both forms of obstruction (on a batter and on a runner), as does the Rules Supplement (on a batter and a runner). The note does state ANY obstruction, and does not explictly nor implicitly provide an exception for catcher's obstruction.

If you are relying solely on the context (that the rule defining the result of catcher's obstruction is in a different place) and the fact that the note already stated is not repeated (that would be redundant), I would hardly consider that more compelling.

While I think it could be more clear, I find the note more indicative of the intent of the rule. I would have R1 out on interference, dead ball, and the coach may have the option on the remaining elements.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 297
I got my information...

from an ASA National Staff Member.

The rule says that interference takes precadence over obstruction. It does not say it nullifies it completely.

I do think ASA needs to clean up this very play. It is quite ambiguous and confusing.

What happens if a runner from 3rd is involved in this play and is off with the pitch...crosses the plate prior to the interference?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
I am open to changing my mind.

A point for further comment--I mentioned before that I'd favor keeping the out if the interference was of the "flagrant" kind. I don't have the rulebook handy, but the crash rule is simply part of the interference rule, correct? If so, then if you keep the out for a deliberate crash, you'd also have to for more "routine" interference. . . Just thinking out loud. Comments?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
I'm not finding a compelling argument to ignore the note on 8-5B. The definition of obstruction refers to both forms of obstruction (on a batter and on a runner), as does the Rules Supplement (on a batter and a runner). The note does state ANY obstruction, and does not explictly nor implicitly provide an exception for catcher's obstruction.

If you are relying solely on the context (that the rule defining the result of catcher's obstruction is in a different place) and the fact that the note already stated is not repeated (that would be redundant), I would hardly consider that more compelling.

While I think it could be more clear, I find the note more indicative of the intent of the rule. I would have R1 out on interference, dead ball, and the coach may have the option on the remaining elements.
I agree with Steve. ASA often stays with the actual wording of the rule when there is a question. The book specifically states any interference and any obstruction. Don't think it could be any clearer. If that isn't what they want, then they need to clean it up.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2008, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpharp
So we get together and enforce CO, which would give the coach the choice of taking the result of the play or putting BR on 1B and moving everybody that was forced to move up one base, which would put R1 on 2B
That is my understanding.

Would you do differently if the batted ball would have hit R1?
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference or Obstruction? rngrck Baseball 13 Wed Feb 27, 2008 09:51pm
Toss up? Obstruction and Interference on same play BigGuy Baseball 21 Thu Apr 19, 2007 09:24am
Obstruction and Interference rottiron01 Softball 4 Mon Apr 10, 2006 07:11am
Obstruction, Interference, Double Play???? JRSooner Baseball 3 Thu Apr 06, 2006 02:02am
Weird Obstruction/Interference Play gmtomko Baseball 11 Thu Apr 24, 2003 05:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1