![]() |
|
|
|||
Caveat: the OP was under (presumably) NCAA rules. So, speaking ASA
![]() I submit that the note under ASA Rule 8-5-B does not apply due to context. Rule 8-5-B is not applicable to the OP situation. 8-5-B is concerning obstructing the progress of a runner or BR who is legally running the bases. The OP was the catcher obstructing the batter attempting to hit the ball. The applicable rule is 8-1-D, which carries no exception for subsequent interference by the BR or anyone else. This makes sense to me since the presumption is the CO may have impacted the flight of the ball and hence subsequent play. Therefore, I would rule the OC has two choices: result of the play (R1 out, BR on 1B), or the enforcement of the penalty (BR on 1B, other runner advanced in forced). I can guess which one he would take.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Catcher's OBS is a unique situation in which the entire play has, potentially, been affected. As Ed correctly pointed out in his deleted post (that I quoted), B2's ability to hit the ball has been affected. As a result, the ball could have gone many other places than where it did in the OP.
In my interpretation, 8-5-B does not apply.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Interference or Obstruction? | rngrck | Baseball | 13 | Wed Feb 27, 2008 09:51pm |
Toss up? Obstruction and Interference on same play | BigGuy | Baseball | 21 | Thu Apr 19, 2007 09:24am |
Obstruction and Interference | rottiron01 | Softball | 4 | Mon Apr 10, 2006 07:11am |
Obstruction, Interference, Double Play???? | JRSooner | Baseball | 3 | Thu Apr 06, 2006 02:02am |
Weird Obstruction/Interference Play | gmtomko | Baseball | 11 | Thu Apr 24, 2003 05:36am |