![]() |
Defensive coach requests time, takes trip to the pitcher's circle. All infielders come to the circle and coach "discusses their situation". After some time, PU prompts for the end of the conference. Coach leaves the circle, but before returning to the dugout, turns and announces a pitching change and returns to the circle.
Should he be charged with the "previous conference"? |
Quote:
change, he should not be charged! glen |
I am assuming this is Fed ball - which does not define when a conference ends (that I am aware of). So the conference ends when I say it ends. Game management time with this one. If the conference breaks up without my intervention, I would not count it as a charged conference. If, however, I break up the conference, it counts as a charged conference. If this is ASA, the conference ends when the coach enters dead ball territory - see case book play for Rule 5, Section 7, Article B.
|
Hey Gary
I dont know FED but under ASA you would I believe charged defense with a charged conference under POE 11 it states for NOT to be a charged conference the team representative informs an umpire PRIOR to crossing the foul line that the representative is removing the pitcher and does so
Don P.S. Gary are you working the tournament this weekend or doing H.S. I am starting tomorrow at 11:45 on RED |
Fed softball doesn't codify how a conference ends, but Fed baseball does.
Fed baseball states that a defensive conference ends when the coach crosses the foul line if the conference was in fair territory. That is what I would apply in a Fed softball game. Roger Greene |
FED Softball, Rule 3.4.1.
Read it. No conference charged when pitcher is removed, PERIOD. It doesn't say if the removal is before or after the coach talks to the pitcher. Bob |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10am. |