The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Montana
Posts: 53
I had this exact play happen in a LL majors game. I am a BB referee that also does some LL games. What I did was to judge the line drive a foul, It would have landed foul, no one was in position to make a play on the ball, 3B was playing in front of the base anyway. I killed the ball, had a foul and made sure the runners did not advance.

I had thought that a runner could not be called for interference when legally on base? am I missing something? Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern Ont.
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoDot
I had this exact play happen in a LL majors game. I am a BB referee that also does some LL games. What I did was to judge the line drive a foul, It would have landed foul, no one was in position to make a play on the ball, 3B was playing in front of the base anyway. I killed the ball, had a foul and made sure the runners did not advance.

I had thought that a runner could not be called for interference when legally on base? am I missing something? Thanks for the help!
With F5 playing in front of the bag and as long as F6 was not over where she could have had a play on the ball, which I doubt was the case in the opening post then you would have a live ball situation as long as the contact was over fair terriotory, if it was over foul ground then all you would is a foul ball as you say in your judgement. And yes a runner can be called for interference if said contact was judged to be intentional and as long as a feilder had a chance for a play.
Since I don't do BB can someone clarify this ruling for me. All I do is fastball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoDot
I had this exact play happen in a LL majors game. I am a BB referee that also does some LL games. What I did was to judge the line drive a foul, It would have landed foul, no one was in position to make a play on the ball, 3B was playing in front of the base anyway. I killed the ball, had a foul and made sure the runners did not advance.

I had thought that a runner could not be called for interference when legally on base? am I missing something? Thanks for the help!
That's some inventive rules-creation you did there. In actuality, the baserunner, standing on a base, in fair territory, who is struck by a batted ball (unless its an infield fly, clearly not in this case) is out.

You got the 'killed the ball' part correct, anyhow.

If the ball struck the runner in foul ground, then its a foul ball. But that's dependent on where the contact occurred, not 'it would have landed foul.'
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMan
That's some inventive rules-creation you did there. In actuality, the baserunner, standing on a base, in fair territory, who is struck by a batted ball (unless its an infield fly, clearly not in this case) is out.

You got the 'killed the ball' part correct, anyhow.

If the ball struck the runner in foul ground, then its a foul ball. But that's dependent on where the contact occurred, not 'it would have landed foul.'
I'll look it up in a minute but I don't think thats correct either. In RS #44 it says the exact opposite of what you say.....Runner not out unless it was intentional act...

Assuming I'm reading your reply correctly LMAN
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
I'll look it up in a minute but I don't think thats correct either. In RS #44 it says the exact opposite of what you say.....Runner not out unless it was intentional act...

Assuming I'm reading your reply correctly LMAN
And that's what a number of us are saying. If, in your judgment, the runner intentionally grabbed the ball, he's out. We're saying that if he had enough time to grab the ball, he had enough time to either get out of the way or, quite simply, not grab the ball.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
And that's what a number of us are saying. If, in your judgment, the runner intentionally grabbed the ball, he's out. We're saying that if he had enough time to grab the ball, he had enough time to either get out of the way or, quite simply, not grab the ball.
I agree.. See my #3 post.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
I'll look it up in a minute but I don't think thats correct either. In RS #44 it says the exact opposite of what you say.....Runner not out unless it was intentional act...

Assuming I'm reading your reply correctly LMAN
I'm thinking LMan based his reply on baseball rules because Twodot mentioned that he's a "BB referee".
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 04:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
First... the ball has to touch the runner before he can catch it.

My understanding is:

If the ball had NOT passed an infielder, or another other fielder had a chance to make an out, the ball is dead the moment it touched the fielder. (He did not "handle" a live ball.) If it was a fair ball and the fielder was in contact with the base, award the BR a base hit and runners advance if forced.

If the ball HAD passed an infielder, and no other fielder had a chance to make an out, then we've got the runner handling a live ball. I've got dead ball and out.

Edited to add: The above is all obviously with the assumption that this was a "self preservation" move and not intentional. Also, noting some BB discussion above and that my statement aboout not out when in contact with the base are meant to be SB only.
__________________
Dan

Last edited by SC Ump; Tue May 13, 2008 at 04:37pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 06:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Ump
First... the ball has to touch the runner before he can catch it.

My understanding is:

If the ball had NOT passed an infielder, or another other fielder had a chance to make an out, the ball is dead the moment it touched the fielder. (He did not "handle" a live ball.) If it was a fair ball and the fielder was in contact with the base, award the BR a base hit and runners advance if forced.

If the ball HAD passed an infielder, and no other fielder had a chance to make an out, then we've got the runner handling a live ball. I've got dead ball and out.

Edited to add: The above is all obviously with the assumption that this was a "self preservation" move and not intentional. Also, noting some BB discussion above and that my statement aboout not out when in contact with the base are meant to be SB only.
Interesting way of looking at it. If this happened as quick as the OP indicated, I would contend the contact with the ball and catch are simultaneous.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tag up on foul ball not caught dave thompson Baseball 7 Wed Aug 30, 2006 07:54am
Runner leaves before ball caught? fan Softball 2 Tue May 16, 2006 11:53am
Kick ball by offensive player BayStateRef Basketball 3 Fri Feb 06, 2004 03:16pm
bunted foul ball caught shipwreck Softball 11 Sun Aug 26, 2001 08:28am
Pass Interferrance - Ball Caught mikesears Football 3 Thu Sep 07, 2000 01:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1