The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 07:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
Be careful on this one, though. In general, you can go by intent, but if the BR overruns 1B and from the line takes two steps out into the field, he's in jeopardy. I admit it's a HTBT, but lack of intent can be overridden by just plain dumb running.
Don't confuse "intent" with "attempt". While intent to advance is not required, a valid attempt is for the BR to be placed into jeopardy. Every good runner makes an attempt when they round 1B with absolutely no intention of advancing unless there is a misplay by the defense. That doesn't mean the runner in not in jeopardy.

Rule specifically notes there must be an attempt. I don't care if the BR runs out and high-fives the RF, if there was no attempt (and yes, I know this is a judgement call) to advance to 2B, they shouldn't be ruled out.

Quote:
I had a play in a men's game where the BR was obviously not intending to advance to 2B, but he did take a walking two steps toward 2B after touching 1B (sort of a walking turn at 1B). The defense tagged him and I called him out. The offensive coach started talking about intent, but this was just careless running, not a normal overrun.
If you make the comment openingly that you made in the first sentence, you may lose a protest with some people. However, leave that part of the sentence out, and I don't think there would be any queston of an out call.

Quote:
I had another case in a girls' FP game in which the BR overran 1B by about 8 steps and did not make any kind of attempt but instead simply turned around quickly to see whether the ball had been overthrown. The defensive coach told F3 to "tag her." When F3 reached out to tag the returning runner, the runner tried to avoid the tag by running around F3 several steps into fair territory. When the chasing F3 made the tag, I felt I had no choice but to call the runner out.
While this is more difficult, I still wouldn't call the runner out in this situation. The runner simply reacted to the defense's play that shouldn't have happened. If this were allowed, F3 would chase every BR which overran 1B and expect an out call if the runner made any attempt to avoid the inappropriate tag.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 06:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Don't confuse "intent" with "attempt". While intent to advance is not required, a valid attempt is for the BR to be placed into jeopardy.
That's an excellent point...never really considered the differences in those words.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overrun First on BOB tibear Baseball 26 Wed Apr 25, 2007 01:16am
Overrun 1st on ball 4? JJ Baseball 35 Sun Feb 19, 2006 02:34pm
Overrun first; feint to second umpyre007 Baseball 15 Tue Feb 27, 2001 01:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1