Two Questions: Ball hits batter, Overthrow
My first question comes from a game I umped two days ago. I had a 10U game, ASA. When the batter hit the ball, it basically went directly up and then to the left a little bit, hitting the batter's right leg, which was still in the box. However, most of the rest of her body was out of the box, as she was running to 1B. I ruled a foul ball since the ball hit the leg while it was still in the box. No one argued this call, but I was just wondering if this was the right call.
Second question comes from the rule book. Rule 8 section G. I'm wondering how you all define an overthrow vs losing possession. Isn't an overthrow essentially a fielder losing possession of the ball (i.e. throwing the ball) that then goes into dead ball territory? Or is voluntarily releasing the ball not technically considered losing possession?
I only ask this because ASA says that in the case of an overthrow, runners are awarded two bases; when a fielder loses possession, runners are awarded one base. Just some food for thought.
|