![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
I was watching a game last week. BR hits ball to the fence. Catcher (appropriately) positions herself slightly in front of home plate and just inside the 3rd base line.
As BR comes in home, catcher is carried backwards into base line to catch a high throw and couldn't see runner. Runner was so close and the play so fast that they crashed. Catcher drops ball and runner goes down injured. PU counted run but I'm not sure exactly what his call was. What is the correct call here?
__________________
"Lord, please give me keen sight, quick recall and most of all PATIENCE! " (An umpire's prayer) ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Based on what rule interpretation? I'm not questioning your response, I just want know exactly in case I'm behind the plate when it happens again.
Thanks.
__________________
"Lord, please give me keen sight, quick recall and most of all PATIENCE! " (An umpire's prayer) ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
It's either obstruction or interference...so my question would be - did the catcher have the ball at the time of the collision?
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
HTBT. Probably OBS. If the 12U BR can hit to the fence, I'm more than likely gonna give her HP, not send her back to 3B.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
Quote:
Paragraph F: When a defensive player is fielding a thrown ball and the flight of the ball carries or draws them into the path of the base runner, it is not a crash. Paragraph G: When the ball, runner, and defensive player arrive at the same time and place, and contact is made, the umpire should no invoke crash rule, interference or obstruction It is a incidental contact (a.k.a. wreck) EDIT: I posted this at same time as SRW so it is doubled up Last edited by Dholloway1962; Thu May 01, 2008 at 11:04am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
The right call or the correct call? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am |
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
Good Call / Bad Call | whiskers_ump | Softball | 29 | Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am |