The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Injury on a home run (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/43962-injury-home-run.html)

SRW Tue Apr 29, 2008 06:38pm

Injury on a home run
 
Hmmm... interesting.

http://sports.espn.go.com/ncaa/colum...t&lid=tab5pos1

NCASAUmp Tue Apr 29, 2008 09:02pm

Awesome. Just awesome.

Man, I wish I'd seen that. You just can't help but smile about it.

SC Ump Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:05pm

Very inspiring and I'd love to just let it be so we could all group hug...

but this is an umpiring forum.

Quote:

"Umpires confirmed that the only option available under the rules was to replace Tucholsky at first base with a pinch runner and have the hit recorded as a two-run single instead of a three-run home run."
ASA 4-6-E and NFHS (I'm almost positive*) disagree with the above. Is it incorrect for NCAA or do they have a different ruling on this.


*Rule book is in the car and I can't seem to find it on the NFHS web site.

Az.Ump Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:38pm

8.5.1.1 Any player may be substituted for at any time when the ball is
dead.

8.5.3.2 If an injury to a batter-runner or runner prevents her from
proceeding to an awarded base, the ball is dead and substitution may
be made. The substitute must legally touch all awarded or missed
bases not previously touched.

Paul

Dakota Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:45pm

Is a home run considered an awarded base?

wadeintothem Wed Apr 30, 2008 01:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Is a home run considered an awarded base?

Tough call...

The call I'd make on the field is yes.

bkbjones Wed Apr 30, 2008 02:29am

Ahem...clearing throat...
I blame the whole thing on the assignor. :eek: :eek: :eek:

Az.Ump Wed Apr 30, 2008 07:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Is a home run considered an awarded base?

12.3 Base Awards

12.3.5 Home plate. The batter is awarded home plate with no liability to be put
out:
12.3.5.1 When a fair batted fly ball strikes the foul pole above the fence level
or leaves the playing field in fair territory without being caught, touching
the ground or going through the fence even if the ball is deflected by a
fielder.

EFFECT (12.3.4.5.1 to 12.3.4.5.2)—The ball is dead. The batter-runner is
entitled to a home run, and each other base runner is awarded
home plate.

Not to tough.

Paul

SC Ump Wed Apr 30, 2008 08:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Ump
Quote:

"Umpires confirmed that ..."

Of course we should not immediately assume that the umpires on the field were wrong. I would be more suspicious of the author misunderstanding the actions on the field. I'm sure the umpires did not run up to confirm their call with the folks in the press box. I suspect the author used a little "literary license".

Dakota Wed Apr 30, 2008 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Az.Ump
12.3 Base Awards

12.3.5 Home plate. The batter is awarded home plate with no liability to be put
out:
12.3.5.1 When a fair batted fly ball strikes the foul pole above the fence level
or leaves the playing field in fair territory without being caught, touching
the ground or going through the fence even if the ball is deflected by a
fielder.

EFFECT (12.3.4.5.1 to 12.3.4.5.2)—The ball is dead. The batter-runner is
entitled to a home run, and each other base runner is awarded
home plate.

Not to tough.

Paul

OP was NCAA sitch; earlier post referenced ASA rules on injury and awarded bases.

ASA Rule that mirrors the NCAA rule quoted above is 8-5-H
Quote:

H. When a fair batted fly ball strikes the foul pole above the fence level or leaves the playing field in fair territory without touching the ground or going through the fence.
EFFECT: The batter-runner shall be entitled to a home run, unless it passes out of the grounds at a distance less than the prescribed fence distances from home plate, in which case the batter-runner is entitled to two bases.
Are home runs the same as a 4 base award in the application of ASA rule 4-6-E?

Dukat Wed Apr 30, 2008 08:45am

What about the FED or ASA rules as it applies to subbing an injured runner and if they can complete their running duties?

I see in Fed 8-9-4 where it states a courtesy runner may be used for an injured runner but I do not see where it says they can complete the running duties as the NCAA rule does in 8.5.3.2

NCASAUmp Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dukat
What about the FED or ASA rules as it applies to subbing an injured runner and if they can complete their running duties?

I see in Fed 8-9-4 where it states a courtesy runner may be used for an injured runner but I do not see where it says they can complete the running duties as the NCAA rule does in 8.5.3.2

In ASA, my understanding is that they can be subbed out. Call time, get the proper medical attention FIRST (especially in kids' games), then have the coach sub 'em out and continue the baserunning.

Except ASA SP. Hit 'n' sit.

BuggBob Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones
Ahem...clearing throat...
I blame the whole thing on the assignor. :eek: :eek: :eek:

Why???

SRW Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BuggBob
Why???

...a verrrrrry long story, told over beers.

SRW Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:26am

The Seattle Times article - effectively the same story, but has a photo as well...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1