The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Injury on a home run (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/43962-injury-home-run.html)

Andy Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones
Ahem...clearing throat...
I blame the whole thing on the assignor. :eek: :eek: :eek:

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW
...a verrrrrry long story, told over beers.

I figured there was a story here when I read John's post.....

greymule Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:15am

Yes, a home run creates awarded bases. The umps should have let a substitute runner complete the home run. (I guess the batter would be credited with the home run, but the sub would be credited with the run scored.)

Of course, a preceding runner could also reverse direction, grab the injured runner, and drag her around the bases, being careful not to create a passed-runner situation or aggravate the injury. Supposedly something like this happened in professional baseball long ago, in a play involving a fatal heart attack.

Now if the preceding runner had scored, could she still legally return to drag the injured player around the bases?

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Is a home run considered an awarded base?

How else could a runner advance during a dead ball period?

Rich Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:51pm

Sounds like a great feel-good story, but from an umpiring perspective, the crew screwed the pooch. Period.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 30, 2008 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN
Sounds like a great feel-good story, but from an umpiring perspective, the crew screwed the pooch. Period.

I assume you are referring to the award of 1B only.

SC Ump Wed Apr 30, 2008 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
... a preceding runner ... drag her around the bases...

... long ago, in a play involving a fatal heart attack.

Is the runner required to touch (under their own power) all the bases or is it sufficient for the preceding runners to drag a lifeless body over the bases.

(Please remember me for stealing humor from Monty Python and not from Weekend at Bernie's.)

greymule Wed Apr 30, 2008 04:42pm

Is the runner required to touch (under their own power) all the bases or is it sufficient for the preceding runners to drag a lifeless body over the bases.

Dragging the body across the bases would be sufficient.

However, there's quite a dispute raging in the YSISF over whether the run counts if the preceding runner rolls just the BR's head across the bases. There's a game under protest where the umpires ruled that such a run counted, and the teams are awaiting an official ruling.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 30, 2008 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
Is the runner required to touch (under their own power) all the bases or is it sufficient for the preceding runners to drag a lifeless body over the bases.

Dragging the body across the bases would be sufficient.

However, there's quite a dispute raging in the YSISF over whether the run counts if the preceding runner rolls just the BR's head across the bases. There's a game under protest where the umpires ruled that such a run counted, and the teams are awaiting an official ruling.

Yeah, they lop off a body part to leave on each base, hence the phrase, "heading for home".:D

SRW Wed Apr 30, 2008 05:51pm

An interesting blurb from this story today on KOMO TV 4:

Frederick, the Central Washington coach, said he later got a clarification from an umpiring supervisor, who said NCAA rules allow a substitute to run for a player who is injured after a home run.

Az.Ump Wed Apr 30, 2008 06:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW
An interesting blurb from this story today on KOMO TV 4:

Frederick, the Central Washington coach, said he later got a clarification from an umpiring supervisor, who said NCAA rules allow a substitute to run for a player who is injured after a home run.

That was easy:rolleyes:

Paul

Rich Wed Apr 30, 2008 08:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
I assume you are referring to the award of 1B only.

Yes. Even a little old baseball umpire knows that in every code out there there's a provision for this and a substitute can complete the 4-base award.

NCASAUmp Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
However, there's quite a dispute raging in the YSISF over whether the run counts if the preceding runner rolls just the BR's head across the bases. There's a game under protest where the umpires ruled that such a run counted, and the teams are awaiting an official ruling.

I still haven't found the rule regarding a defensive player whose head rolls across a base on a force out if the body is still in possession of the ball.

God, I'm sick.

Dholloway1962 Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
I still haven't found the rule regarding a defensive player whose head rolls across a base on a force out if the body is still in possession of the ball.

God, I'm sick.

Get your head back into the books and you'll find. The umpires in this situation should be more head strong. I'll quit now :D

NCASAUmp Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
Get your head back into the books and you'll find. The umpires in this situation should be more head strong. I'll quit now :D

Quit while you're... ahead? :eek:

Az.Ump Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
I still haven't found the rule regarding a defensive player whose head rolls across a base on a force out if the body is still in possession of the ball.

God, I'm sick.

That would be rule L-XVI

Effect: Every one but the severed head get cake during the semi-delayed "I'm not dead yet" ball. :D

Paul


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1