The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Injury on a home run (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/43962-injury-home-run.html)

SRW Tue Apr 29, 2008 06:38pm

Injury on a home run
 
Hmmm... interesting.

http://sports.espn.go.com/ncaa/colum...t&lid=tab5pos1

NCASAUmp Tue Apr 29, 2008 09:02pm

Awesome. Just awesome.

Man, I wish I'd seen that. You just can't help but smile about it.

SC Ump Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:05pm

Very inspiring and I'd love to just let it be so we could all group hug...

but this is an umpiring forum.

Quote:

"Umpires confirmed that the only option available under the rules was to replace Tucholsky at first base with a pinch runner and have the hit recorded as a two-run single instead of a three-run home run."
ASA 4-6-E and NFHS (I'm almost positive*) disagree with the above. Is it incorrect for NCAA or do they have a different ruling on this.


*Rule book is in the car and I can't seem to find it on the NFHS web site.

Az.Ump Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:38pm

8.5.1.1 Any player may be substituted for at any time when the ball is
dead.

8.5.3.2 If an injury to a batter-runner or runner prevents her from
proceeding to an awarded base, the ball is dead and substitution may
be made. The substitute must legally touch all awarded or missed
bases not previously touched.

Paul

Dakota Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:45pm

Is a home run considered an awarded base?

wadeintothem Wed Apr 30, 2008 01:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Is a home run considered an awarded base?

Tough call...

The call I'd make on the field is yes.

bkbjones Wed Apr 30, 2008 02:29am

Ahem...clearing throat...
I blame the whole thing on the assignor. :eek: :eek: :eek:

Az.Ump Wed Apr 30, 2008 07:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Is a home run considered an awarded base?

12.3 Base Awards

12.3.5 Home plate. The batter is awarded home plate with no liability to be put
out:
12.3.5.1 When a fair batted fly ball strikes the foul pole above the fence level
or leaves the playing field in fair territory without being caught, touching
the ground or going through the fence even if the ball is deflected by a
fielder.

EFFECT (12.3.4.5.1 to 12.3.4.5.2)—The ball is dead. The batter-runner is
entitled to a home run, and each other base runner is awarded
home plate.

Not to tough.

Paul

SC Ump Wed Apr 30, 2008 08:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Ump
Quote:

"Umpires confirmed that ..."

Of course we should not immediately assume that the umpires on the field were wrong. I would be more suspicious of the author misunderstanding the actions on the field. I'm sure the umpires did not run up to confirm their call with the folks in the press box. I suspect the author used a little "literary license".

Dakota Wed Apr 30, 2008 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Az.Ump
12.3 Base Awards

12.3.5 Home plate. The batter is awarded home plate with no liability to be put
out:
12.3.5.1 When a fair batted fly ball strikes the foul pole above the fence level
or leaves the playing field in fair territory without being caught, touching
the ground or going through the fence even if the ball is deflected by a
fielder.

EFFECT (12.3.4.5.1 to 12.3.4.5.2)—The ball is dead. The batter-runner is
entitled to a home run, and each other base runner is awarded
home plate.

Not to tough.

Paul

OP was NCAA sitch; earlier post referenced ASA rules on injury and awarded bases.

ASA Rule that mirrors the NCAA rule quoted above is 8-5-H
Quote:

H. When a fair batted fly ball strikes the foul pole above the fence level or leaves the playing field in fair territory without touching the ground or going through the fence.
EFFECT: The batter-runner shall be entitled to a home run, unless it passes out of the grounds at a distance less than the prescribed fence distances from home plate, in which case the batter-runner is entitled to two bases.
Are home runs the same as a 4 base award in the application of ASA rule 4-6-E?

Dukat Wed Apr 30, 2008 08:45am

What about the FED or ASA rules as it applies to subbing an injured runner and if they can complete their running duties?

I see in Fed 8-9-4 where it states a courtesy runner may be used for an injured runner but I do not see where it says they can complete the running duties as the NCAA rule does in 8.5.3.2

NCASAUmp Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dukat
What about the FED or ASA rules as it applies to subbing an injured runner and if they can complete their running duties?

I see in Fed 8-9-4 where it states a courtesy runner may be used for an injured runner but I do not see where it says they can complete the running duties as the NCAA rule does in 8.5.3.2

In ASA, my understanding is that they can be subbed out. Call time, get the proper medical attention FIRST (especially in kids' games), then have the coach sub 'em out and continue the baserunning.

Except ASA SP. Hit 'n' sit.

BuggBob Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones
Ahem...clearing throat...
I blame the whole thing on the assignor. :eek: :eek: :eek:

Why???

SRW Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BuggBob
Why???

...a verrrrrry long story, told over beers.

SRW Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:26am

The Seattle Times article - effectively the same story, but has a photo as well...

Andy Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkbjones
Ahem...clearing throat...
I blame the whole thing on the assignor. :eek: :eek: :eek:

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW
...a verrrrrry long story, told over beers.

I figured there was a story here when I read John's post.....

greymule Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:15am

Yes, a home run creates awarded bases. The umps should have let a substitute runner complete the home run. (I guess the batter would be credited with the home run, but the sub would be credited with the run scored.)

Of course, a preceding runner could also reverse direction, grab the injured runner, and drag her around the bases, being careful not to create a passed-runner situation or aggravate the injury. Supposedly something like this happened in professional baseball long ago, in a play involving a fatal heart attack.

Now if the preceding runner had scored, could she still legally return to drag the injured player around the bases?

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Is a home run considered an awarded base?

How else could a runner advance during a dead ball period?

Rich Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:51pm

Sounds like a great feel-good story, but from an umpiring perspective, the crew screwed the pooch. Period.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 30, 2008 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN
Sounds like a great feel-good story, but from an umpiring perspective, the crew screwed the pooch. Period.

I assume you are referring to the award of 1B only.

SC Ump Wed Apr 30, 2008 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
... a preceding runner ... drag her around the bases...

... long ago, in a play involving a fatal heart attack.

Is the runner required to touch (under their own power) all the bases or is it sufficient for the preceding runners to drag a lifeless body over the bases.

(Please remember me for stealing humor from Monty Python and not from Weekend at Bernie's.)

greymule Wed Apr 30, 2008 04:42pm

Is the runner required to touch (under their own power) all the bases or is it sufficient for the preceding runners to drag a lifeless body over the bases.

Dragging the body across the bases would be sufficient.

However, there's quite a dispute raging in the YSISF over whether the run counts if the preceding runner rolls just the BR's head across the bases. There's a game under protest where the umpires ruled that such a run counted, and the teams are awaiting an official ruling.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 30, 2008 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
Is the runner required to touch (under their own power) all the bases or is it sufficient for the preceding runners to drag a lifeless body over the bases.

Dragging the body across the bases would be sufficient.

However, there's quite a dispute raging in the YSISF over whether the run counts if the preceding runner rolls just the BR's head across the bases. There's a game under protest where the umpires ruled that such a run counted, and the teams are awaiting an official ruling.

Yeah, they lop off a body part to leave on each base, hence the phrase, "heading for home".:D

SRW Wed Apr 30, 2008 05:51pm

An interesting blurb from this story today on KOMO TV 4:

Frederick, the Central Washington coach, said he later got a clarification from an umpiring supervisor, who said NCAA rules allow a substitute to run for a player who is injured after a home run.

Az.Ump Wed Apr 30, 2008 06:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW
An interesting blurb from this story today on KOMO TV 4:

Frederick, the Central Washington coach, said he later got a clarification from an umpiring supervisor, who said NCAA rules allow a substitute to run for a player who is injured after a home run.

That was easy:rolleyes:

Paul

Rich Wed Apr 30, 2008 08:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
I assume you are referring to the award of 1B only.

Yes. Even a little old baseball umpire knows that in every code out there there's a provision for this and a substitute can complete the 4-base award.

NCASAUmp Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by greymule
However, there's quite a dispute raging in the YSISF over whether the run counts if the preceding runner rolls just the BR's head across the bases. There's a game under protest where the umpires ruled that such a run counted, and the teams are awaiting an official ruling.

I still haven't found the rule regarding a defensive player whose head rolls across a base on a force out if the body is still in possession of the ball.

God, I'm sick.

Dholloway1962 Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
I still haven't found the rule regarding a defensive player whose head rolls across a base on a force out if the body is still in possession of the ball.

God, I'm sick.

Get your head back into the books and you'll find. The umpires in this situation should be more head strong. I'll quit now :D

NCASAUmp Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
Get your head back into the books and you'll find. The umpires in this situation should be more head strong. I'll quit now :D

Quit while you're... ahead? :eek:

Az.Ump Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
I still haven't found the rule regarding a defensive player whose head rolls across a base on a force out if the body is still in possession of the ball.

God, I'm sick.

That would be rule L-XVI

Effect: Every one but the severed head get cake during the semi-delayed "I'm not dead yet" ball. :D

Paul

greymule Thu May 01, 2008 11:16am

I still haven't found the rule regarding a defensive player whose head rolls across a base on a force out if the body is still in possession of the ball.

If you have the latest YSISF case book, see Case Play CCLXVII, Section III. This was never an issue until recently, because it has virtually always been a member of the offensive team (a runner or coach) who was responsible for the separation of the defensive player's head from his body. In those cases, the call is simply interference and, if the umpire believes the violation was with intent to break up a double play, the runner closest to home is also out. However, in a recent heated and emotional game, a defensive player decapitated his own teammate who cut in front of him to field a bases-loaded ground ball. The head rolled across 2B in time, and the defense wanted a force out. The umpires ruled that because the head did not possess the ball, the runner was safe, and the official case play supports that interpretation.

bkbjones Thu May 01, 2008 02:06pm

I just read a story about a recent YSISF game where, in the 5th inning stretch, they did not have the traditional singing of "Take Me Out to the Ballgame."

Instead, it was "Goin' Out of My Head (Over You)." Any truth to this scandalous rumor?

LIIRISHMAN Fri May 02, 2008 04:48am

As NCAA's umpires this is embarassing not to know a rule.:confused: "You can question this umpire's judgment but not his knowledge of the rules" has been my moto for 10 + years


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1