The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 13, 2002, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
I'm with Mike on this.

There is a baseball play (bare with me a minute,Mike) in which F5 is watching a batted ball roll up 3rd base line wanting it to go foul. R3 has returned to the 3rd base bag, and the batted ball, still in fair territory, hits his foot while he is in contact with the bag. In baseball, the bag is not protection from being ruled out if hit by a fair batted ball. The ruling was that F5 could have fielded the ball with ordinary effort, and therefore the ball was treated as if it had passed by the fielder, and the runner was not out.

This would add weight to Mikes arguements.

Couple of questions though, Was the runner carrying his white cane when he ran into this fielder? And, was the cane properly padded with at least 1/2 inch of slow recovery rubber or similar material?

Roger Greene
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1