The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Apr 15, 2008, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member

2nd ASA Game

Fellow umpires:

I have been doing baseball for about 5 years now. I'm going to do ASA FP for the 2nd time in the last week. Today I have the plate for a 12U ASA game. 1st game I did went very smooth I thought. I learned later that I had given the pitcher too many warm up pitches. I just went with what I had done in baseball. Can those that do OBR or FED baseball please provide some major difference between the two that I should be aware of. I'm looking for some pearls of wisdom that will stick with me. Thanks
Old Tue Apr 15, 2008, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member

Know the in's and out's of the lineup system used in the Leagues and travel organizations you work. Some use lineups where everyone hits. Others may either use Flex/DP or DH/DP. These are very different rules and as you work more meaningful games you will have to administer them in competitive situations. I'm in my 4th year of calling softball and Flex/DP rule is one I have to relearn every Spring because the HS season is very short and then I'm working ball that uses other systems and I forget Flex/DP by the end of the summer.

Other big difference is the Look Back Rule. LBR is one where I have had to learn by seeing, and am still doing so. Unfortunately, LBR violations are rare enough that it takes a while before you have seen all the ways it can be violated. Be prepared for the "wheel play" where a runner is at 3rd and the batter draws a walk and just keeps going toward second while the pitcher has the ball in the circle. Perfectly legal.