![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Fly ball coverage with no runners on base. PU is to "Trail batter/runner toward first. If first bse umpire goes out, ASSIST IN WATCHING batter/runner touch first base." U1 is to "If third base umpire goes out on fly ball, come inside the diamond, buttonhook, and take runner to third base." U3 is to "If first base umpire goes out on fly ball, come inside the diamond and take the runner to third base." So, which part says PU has a play at first? If you read that, then, PU must, by your reading, also have the play at first when U3 goes out, over U1, since the exact same terminology is used. Do you agree that U1 has the call at first when U3 goes out, and that PU simply "assists"? Then, by the same wording, U3 has the play at first when U1 goes out, and PU simply assists. If you can't follow that, then no one can clarify it for you.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
The ASA National Umpire School I went to this year they said PU has the play at 1B. Every ASA National I have done they say PU has play at 1B. Add to that, page 182-183 of the manual under Leaving the Plate Area and Trailing the Batter-Runner states This will enable you (meaning PU) to either make or assist the base umpire in administration of 7. The base umpire going to the outfield. You are already in position to make any calls on the bases that may develop. Also, althought I don't know if this is from ASA or not, but on Cactus Umpires (ASA) there is a document http://www.cactusumpires.com/pdf/3-umpire-handout.pdf it states on page 3 section 3 When an umpire chases, we are working with two umpires. Usually, but not always, we revert to the two umpire system. For instance, when 1U chases with no one on, P covers 1st and 3U rotates into 2nd. When the BR advances to 2nd, P goes back to the plate and 3U takes the runner to 3rd if needed. So that is why I am having confusion on the matter. Last edited by Dholloway1962; Wed Apr 16, 2008 at 07:13pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Can't speak for which staff members taught your NUS, nor which UIC'd your Nationals. And, I personally believe that the PU obviously has a better look at this play, particularly if it is the linedrive and one hop pickup and throw to first for a banger. U3 doesn't have a chance. All that said, I promise you that the official word from the very top is that when U1 goes out, U3 becomes THE ONE AND ONLY BU, that must make all calls that BU would make in the 2 umpire system. PU must "call" the BU off to follow protocol, since we don't agree to change standard mechanics in a pregame.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
The way that I understand ASA, AtlSteve hit the nail on the head. It is better to have PU take the call, but that is not "by the book" and you cannot change the book before you hit the field, you make changes as they become necessary in the game, even though you make this change most every time that it happens.
By the way I had this play today in an NCAA game. I was PU and said "two man" as U1 went out but did not call U3 off. He asked me, as we were going back to our positions, if I was going to take the touch all day. ![]() |
|
|||
In any ASA I have done, if U1 or U3 go out, we revert to standard 2-man mechanics.
Scooby, for some reason I think maybe your partner hasn't read the NCAA Umpire Manual. Maybe that partner was too cheap to spend the $10?
__________________
John An ucking fidiot |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Three Person Mechanics | Just Curious | Basketball | 16 | Wed Nov 09, 2005 08:26pm |
Three-person mechanics | OverAndBack | Basketball | 7 | Wed Dec 22, 2004 06:24pm |
Two person mechanics | FUBLUE | Softball | 7 | Thu Apr 01, 2004 07:53am |
3 person mechanics | Ralph Stubenthal | Basketball | 22 | Wed Jul 02, 2003 10:03am |
3-person mechanics | bugman | Basketball | 2 | Tue Sep 03, 2002 11:32am |