![]() |
|
|
|||
How's this situation grab everyone?
R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, no outs, bottom of 7, tie score. BR attempts a sac bunt into the infield on the 1B side. F1 fields the bunt, throws to F2 to stop R1 who is charging home. R1 gets into a run-down between 3B and home and appears to be a dead duck. BR runs into the dugout, preserving the runner on 3B. Dead ball, BR out, R1 back on 3B. Sounds fair to me. If you're worried about who the umpire is watching, make it a 3 man crew.
__________________
Tom Last edited by Dakota; Wed Apr 09, 2008 at 12:57pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Under the wording, and a very saavy coach and team, this scenario is entirely possible.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() I think the point you are trying to make is a good one, but I also think it is 'small potatoes', since the liklihood of it happening is almost nil.
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
|
|||
There are a few other situations, at least in ASA, in which a runner can benefit his team by deliberately committing interference or by running into the dugout.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Quote:
OK, OK Dakota. It's theoretically possible. However, this extremely savvy coach and his amazingly smart team (who should also be excellent base runners) could have R2 and R3 advance during this run-down to 3B and 2B by "normal" means. Same result. 1 out, runners on second and third. Or maybe the extremely smart and savvy team is also extremely slow and cautious.
__________________
Larry |
|
|||
It's only a minor stretch here to call this interference with a double play. Since the runner is not advancing to first, the double play tag throw is still in order.
The problem with this interpretation is that the note on Double Play interference is specifically under 8-2-F and the particular interference is under 8-2-D. Similarly 8-2-G could apply but you have to make the same stretch. In any case, I guarantee I will not see the BR leave until the tag is made. ________ Prilosec attorney Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:08pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
It Never Fails | refnrev | Basketball | 10 | Thu Dec 13, 2007 02:33pm |
Timer fails to the start clock..... | jshock | Basketball | 3 | Mon Jan 08, 2007 02:32pm |
When Replay Fails | djmonty | Football | 25 | Mon Sep 18, 2006 11:50pm |
Clock fails to start . . . redux | assignmentmaker | Basketball | 13 | Sat Mar 04, 2006 07:36pm |
Live ball; coach fails to ask for time | Patrick Szalapski | Baseball | 8 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 10:55pm |