The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 08, 2008, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Saw this one yesterday:

R1 attempting to steal 2B, F2 throws down, F6 crosses in front of 2B, ball hits the glove, F6 steps in front of the runner, ball falls out, R1 collides with F6 sans ball (it was a lot more fluid than that, but you get the picture; save the drop, one of the best defensive reactions to a stolen base attempt I've seen this year, R1 was caught cold). BU's arm goes out and holds it there until R1 reaches 3B.

After a second's thought, I agreed with the call. Wouldn't have held my arm up that long, I don't think...
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 07:28pm
GDW GDW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC
Saw this one yesterday:

R1 attempting to steal 2B, F2 throws down, F6 crosses in front of 2B, ball hits the glove, F6 steps in front of the runner, ball falls out, R1 collides with F6 sans ball (it was a lot more fluid than that, but you get the picture; save the drop, one of the best defensive reactions to a stolen base attempt I've seen this year, R1 was caught cold). BU's arm goes out and holds it there until R1 reaches 3B.

After a second's thought, I agreed with the call. Wouldn't have held my arm up that long, I don't think...
I am just getting started so please bear with me. This last situation is a bit confusing. I'm sure I've missed something somewhere.

Since F6 had the ball and was attempting a play on R1 when the ball fell out, why is that OBS? Or, did the ball fall out BEFORE the collision with R1?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by GDW
I am just getting started so please bear with me. This last situation is a bit confusing. I'm sure I've missed something somewhere.

Since F6 had the ball and was attempting a play on R1 when the ball fell out, why is that OBS? Or, did the ball fall out BEFORE the collision with R1?
OK, with the original post - "In the process of tagging R2, F2 losses control of the ball the rolls next to R2." No obstruction at this point.
"F2 continues to block the plate while retrieving the ball and tags R2 out." - the obstruction is here - the fielder did not have the ball and hindered or impeded the runner.

Now, what is the definition of obstruction? See why it's obstruction now?

Look at Jeffer's play - "R1 attempting to steal 2B, F2 throws down, F6 crosses in front of 2B, ball hits the glove, F6 steps in front of the runner, ball falls out, R1 collides with F6 sans ball (it was a lot more fluid than that, but you get the picture; save the drop, one of the best defensive reactions to a stolen base attempt I've seen this year, R1 was caught cold)."
At the point in time of the collision, did F6 have the ball? Go back to the definition of obstruction you just looked up. See why it is obstruction?
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 07:51pm
GDW GDW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 11
I think I've got it. The first one I understood. Based on the information given, F2 was clearly keeping R2 from getting to the plate while NOT in possession of the ball.

In the second situation, I missed the "sans". So, F6 did NOT have the ball and collided with R1. Clear obstruction.

Have I got it?
__________________
"Lord, please give me keen sight, quick recall and most of all PATIENCE! " (An umpire's prayer)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 08:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by GDW
I think I've got it. The first one I understood. Based on the information given, F2 was clearly keeping R2 from getting to the plate while NOT in possession of the ball.

In the second situation, I missed the "sans". So, F6 did NOT have the ball and collided with R1. Clear obstruction.

Have I got it?

Sounds like you got it.

AND welcome to the board...........
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2008, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Now... nearly the exact same play happened last night. Same F2 and F6. Not as good a throw, F6 never had the ball (it did bounce off the tip of her glove). No DDB signal, No OBS called. Runner stays at 2B.

Now... aftering seeing this, I'm rethinking Monday night: The ball fell right in front of 2B. Either F4 or F6 could easily have picked up the ball and thrown R1 out at 3B. Heck F1 probably could have. But with R1 jogging to 3B with BU trailing behind her with the arm out, there just didn't seem to be much point.

I'm still cool with the OBS call, made while the runner was between 1B and 2B, and protection to 2B. But, if F6 had never collided with R1, then R1 would have been a fool to try for 3B. Now, I couldn't hear the BU "award" 3B to R1, but BU holding the arm out while following her to 3B would sure give me (if I were an infielder) pause at trying to throw her out.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2008, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC
Now... nearly the exact same play happened last night. Same F2 and F6. Not as good a throw, F6 never had the ball (it did bounce off the tip of her glove). No DDB signal, No OBS called. Runner stays at 2B.

Now... aftering seeing this, I'm rethinking Monday night: The ball fell right in front of 2B. Either F4 or F6 could easily have picked up the ball and thrown R1 out at 3B. Heck F1 probably could have. But with R1 jogging to 3B with BU trailing behind her with the arm out, there just didn't seem to be much point.

I'm still cool with the OBS call, made while the runner was between 1B and 2B, and protection to 2B. But, if F6 had never collided with R1, then R1 would have been a fool to try for 3B. Now, I couldn't hear the BU "award" 3B to R1, but BU holding the arm out while following her to 3B would sure give me (if I were an infielder) pause at trying to throw her out.
Holding the arm out in the DDB signal only means DDB. The duration of holding the arm out does not (should not) mean anything at all.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 07:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M
Look at Jeffer's play - "R1 attempting to steal 2B, F2 throws down, F6 crosses in front of 2B, ball hits the glove, F6 steps in front of the runner, ball falls out, R1 collides with F6 sans ball (it was a lot more fluid than that, but you get the picture; save the drop, one of the best defensive reactions to a stolen base attempt I've seen this year, R1 was caught cold)."
At the point in time of the collision, did F6 have the ball? Go back to the definition of obstruction you just looked up. See why it is obstruction?
If this all happened "fluidly" then I don't see obstruction at all. I think you have a collision. Maybe I'm missing something or maybe it's one of those HTBT things.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 08:05pm
GDW GDW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 11
OK, I'm new here.....HTBT?
__________________
"Lord, please give me keen sight, quick recall and most of all PATIENCE! " (An umpire's prayer)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 08:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by GDW
OK, I'm new here.....HTBT?
HTBT = Had To Be There
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 08:25pm
GDW GDW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 11
Thanks. And thanks for the kind welcome.
__________________
"Lord, please give me keen sight, quick recall and most of all PATIENCE! " (An umpire's prayer)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 09:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
If this all happened "fluidly" then I don't see obstruction at all. I think you have a collision. Maybe I'm missing something or maybe it's one of those HTBT things.
Personally, I think you ARE missing something. "Fluidly" is absolutely and totally immaterial. What does matter is that the fielder impeded the runner while not in possession of the ball (ball falls out, R1 collides with F6 sans ball). Filelder was legally there when she had the ball; falls out, and she can no longer be there. And, yes, that she means she must go "poof".

Unless you do not understand that "sans" means WITHOUT.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2008, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
Personally, I think you ARE missing something. "Fluidly" is absolutely and totally immaterial. What does matter is that the fielder impeded the runner while not in possession of the ball (ball falls out, R1 collides with F6 sans ball). Filelder was legally there when she had the ball; falls out, and she can no longer be there. And, yes, that she means she must go "poof".

Unless you do not understand that "sans" means WITHOUT.
I was reading fluidly as more of an instantaneous moment. F6 comes up to make tag and at the last second drops ball then contact occurs. Just because there is contact doesn't always translate into OBS or INT in every situation. Still have some issues with this one but don't mean to say I disagree with the call.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 10, 2008, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
I was reading fluidly as more of an instantaneous moment. F6 comes up to make tag and at the last second drops ball then contact occurs. Just because there is contact doesn't always translate into OBS or INT in every situation. Still have some issues with this one but don't mean to say I disagree with the call.
ASA RS on Crash Interference, paragraph G:
Quote:
When the ball, runner and the defensive player arrive at the same time and place, and contact is made, the umpire should not invoke the crash rule, interference, or obstruction. This is merely incidental contact, or what some persons commonly call, “a wreck.”
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long Time Lurker, First Time Poster SoInZebra Basketball 122 Mon Mar 26, 2007 04:10pm
the time displayed as post time is way off chuck chopper General / Off-Topic 2 Wed Mar 29, 2006 02:09pm
Another long time listener, first time caller Fifth And Goal Basketball 11 Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am
Lag time when coach calls time out JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Mon Jan 12, 2004 03:43pm
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? Deion Softball 1 Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1