The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 23, 2003, 01:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichBlue
Despite all the words, there is no difference between "Rounding" 1B and "Over-running" 1B. In both cases you have your basic "3 step rule" - Stop, Decide, and Proceed Non-Stop.

The runner gets to stop once, then must decide whether to go to the next base or back to the last base. After the decision, the runner must proceed non-stop to the base of choice.

If the runner "rounds" 1B, her movement is towards 2B and she get to stop once. (And we are not going to argue about how far she can go before the STOP.) Then decide, and either go to 2B or back to 1B.

If the runner "over-runs" 1B, her movement is towards RF. When she pulls up to return to the infield she has committed a stop.

A) If she turns Left then she must decide - go to 2B or return to 1B. Any movement towards either base commits her to proceed non-stop to that base.

B) If she turns Right she is assumed to have decided to return to 1B, and any other action would be illegal.

If you will just remember this "3-Step Rule", understand, and officiating the Look-Back Rule is simple.

Oh BTW, there is one other difference between ASA and NFHS. For the LB to be in effect in ASA the pitcher must have control of the ball (in hand or glove); in NFHS the pitcher only has to have possession. Tucked under the chin while she adjusts her pony tail is possession in NFHS.

WMB
WMB, you are incomplete in your description of the LBR as it applies to overrunning first base. If she turns left, the ONLY way she will have a choice of base is if she stops IMMEDIATELY upon turning left. If she turns and moves toward 2nd base, she may still stop, but she can only continue to 2nd base. If she turns and moves toward anywhere except 2nd base (back toward the infield or toward 1st base), she may still stop, but she can only continue to 1st base. In this latter case, while she is required to return to 1st by the LBR, she is still protected from being put out before she returns to 1st, since she has made no attempt to 2nd.

IOW, if the overrunning runner does anything except turn left and stop immediately, she is committed to a specific base if the pitcher has the ball in the circle and is not making a play.

The rounding runner, OTOH, is not committed until she moves again after her stop.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 23, 2003, 01:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichBlue
All this talk about ASA vs NFHS. Any of you umpires that do both should know by now that the LB rule is both books is 99.999% identical.
I think I already said they were very similar.

"All this talk" was really only about two points: do the two books differ in the definition of what consitutes a pitcher making a play, and do the two books differ in the rule WRT overrunning first.

On the first question, I pointed out that, while the NFHS book is not as explicit in the definition of "making a play" as the ASA POE is, the NFHS case book certainly implies there is very little (if any) difference in interpretation between the two.

On the second question, I pointed out that the two books were the same.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1