The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 20, 2008, 12:07am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Got anything #2







__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 20, 2008, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
an db out overruling likely obs...
Not enough blood or broken bones for an ejection..
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 20, 2008, 12:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 304
The umpire could use a pair of pants that fit.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 20, 2008, 12:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 858
Hard to tell from the pics but there could have been obstruction. The picture doesn't show if the runner altered her stride coming to the plate. F2 was clearly blocking the plate as she was about to receive the ball. Also hard to tell if there was a tag by F2 and whether or not the runner touched the plate.

Great angle showing the PU without a hat.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 20, 2008, 03:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Probably obstruction, but that's likely to be superceded by the runner staying on her feet and not avoiding the collision.
And PU who doesn't win anything from the fashion police.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 20, 2008, 07:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Texas
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M
... the runner staying on her feet and not avoiding the collision.
...
nothing wrong with that if no malicious contact occurs (in umps judgement)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 20, 2008, 08:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3afan
nothing wrong with that if no malicious contact occurs (in umps judgement)
besides crash interference.. there is nothing wrong with it if no malicious contact...
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 20, 2008, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Posts: 186
Looks to me that F2 had the ball, so no OBS, she can block the plate. Doesn't look like a collision. Looks like the runner avoided it.
IMHO just an out.
__________________
"Experience is valued least by those without it."
ASA, NFHS, PONY, USSSA, NCAA
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 21, 2008, 06:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 112
How could you not call OBS the cather is clearly blocking the plate without the ball
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 21, 2008, 07:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gmoore
How could you not call OBS the cather is clearly blocking the plate without the ball
Just not enough there to tell if the runner was impeded.

I agree its a possibility... that would imo be overruled by her INT anyway.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 21, 2008, 08:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gmoore
How could you not call OBS the cather is clearly blocking the plate without the ball
There is no rule prohibiting a fielder from blocking a base without the ball.

Now, if the runner altered her route or checked up due to the presence of the player without the ball, then you could call OBS, but that is unknown based solely on this picture.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 01:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
There is no rule prohibiting a fielder from blocking a base without the ball.

Now, if the runner altered her route or checked up due to the presence of the player without the ball, then you could call OBS, but that is unknown based solely on this picture.

NFHS it is prohibited
NCAA allowed

Last edited by Gmoore; Sat Mar 22, 2008 at 01:22am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gmoore
NFHS it is prohibited
NCAA allowed
Not sure where you got that idea... do tell...

The rule in NFHS is essentially the same as ASA.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 22, 2008, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 112
2-36
obstruction is an act.................... unless the fielder is in possession of the ball or is making the initial play on a batted ball....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1