The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 07:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Is this anything? or less than nothing?

Fed ruleset.. runner on second, 1 out, count of 1 and 1. F1 pitches a strike, F2 throws the ball to F5....runner never moved off the bag at second. Is this an infraction by the catcher? as I read the rule I sez yes.... as i read the casebook I sez ummmm maybe? I dont remember the rule number offhand. but think it was 6.2.3 its right after the section on infractions by pitcher. I did "sell" this as a ball to the batter and both coaches gave me the "huh, ok, sounds right" look. so if i messed up let me know.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 08:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
I say no infraction. The catcher has a right to throw to a base. Who knows, maybe the runner would make a mistake and step off the base. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
f2 threw to f5....thats nowhere near the runner.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Well F5 is where the runner would be if she stole right? Again dumb catcher move....BUT who knows maybe the batter blocked her view and she saw movement of F6 and thought it was the runner breaking for 3rd? I am saying a one time thing like this in this condition is a nothing. Maybe a "you think she was stealing catch?" Or say nothing if you don't want to "coach" a couple more times of this with the runner making no move might be grounds for discussion / penalty. JMO
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 08:57am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
FED states it's illegal unless F2 is "attempting a play."

ASA states "an attempted put out."

F2 possibly anticipated a steal attempt. May have even be instructed to by a coach who thought he had stolen a steal sign. Perhaps the runner movement convinced F2 she "was going."

Seems as if she were attempting a play.

Another note of interest is ASA states this rule (throwing to an un occupied base) "does not apply with a runner(s)on base"

The "ball" call was incorrect.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 09:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Using the NFHS ruleset, I would probably allow this, as the defense could have been making a play. Keeping a runner from advancing IS making a play, and that is one sure way to do it. Personally I wouldn't have penalized the defense.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Jersey SHore
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to LMSANS
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEL
FED states it's illegal unless F2 is "attempting a play."

ASA states "an attempted put out."

F2 possibly anticipated a steal attempt. May have even be instructed to by a coach who thought he had stolen a steal sign. Perhaps the runner movement convinced F2 she "was going."

Seems as if she were attempting a play.

Another note of interest is ASA states this rule (throwing to an un occupied base) "does not apply with a runner(s)on base"

The "ball" call was incorrect.
Where is this stated? I can't find anything in either book.
__________________

Larry Sansevere
SUA, NJFOA & NJWOA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1