The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Feb 24, 2002, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Question

I graduated up to a new lighter weight mask. My old mask didn't have a permanent throat guard. I needed to attach a detachable one to it. My new mask has an extended throat guard permanently attached to it. It looks like for maximum protection I should still attach the throat guard to it, although it would hang down pretty far. What does everyone else have or do? Without it, it looks in the mirror, that I would be most vunerable with a ball that bounced up to me, if I wasn't wearing the extra protection. Thanks, Dave
Old Sun Feb 24, 2002, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member

Here's the response I stuck over on McGriff's:

Dave,
My mask also has what they say is an extended throat guard and that's not enough. Get youself a softball, get in your normal plate stance, and have somebody place the ball under the extension. It fits very easily. Get your old detachable guard and attach it to this new mask. The ball will not fit under that.

Old Sun Feb 24, 2002, 11:44pm
Administrator

Like Steve I to use the attachable throat guard and I use the extra long one too. You just cannot have enough protection. Especially if you also do baseball too.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Old Mon Feb 25, 2002, 10:15am
Official Forum Member

I've been "trusting" my mask's extended throat protector. You guys have made me rethink...

However, if I wear the hanging throat protector, I'll defnintely be the "geek" of our local association, since I won't call behind the plate without mask, chest protector, leg guards that go above the knee, and plate shoes.

Here is my unscientific estimate of the frequency of using this equipment in our local association (JO fastpitch):

mask - 100%