![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
What Fed rule or ruling sez this? I could have sworn this resulted in a team & coach warning the first time with restriction the oenalty for further equipment violations.
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
"She committed toward the dugout"
This ump may not know the rules, but at least he knows to spout something that sounds like verbiage from the book or an official interpretation. He knows that if you're going to make up a rule, at least make up something that sounds convincing. You can almost see in it in print. Rule A, Section B, Part C, Subsection D-- The batter-runner is out if: After an uncaught third strike, he commits toward the dugout. But he's not the only one. I've had coaches insist that after an uncaught third strike, "one step toward the dugout and she's out."
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Isn't there a baseball ruling in one of their codes that states something like:
The batter-runner is out if they abandon their effort to advance to first by starting toward their dugout? That may explain what this umpire was thinking......
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
There was a change to OBR just this year regarding the uncaught third strike. The batter is to be declared when he leaves the "dirt circle" around home plate without intent to advance toward first base (ie: heads for the dugout).
To the best of my knowledge, this rule is in effect only in the professional ranks and has not yet filtered down to any amateur codes. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
thanks
I just wanted to take a moment and say thanks to all of you for your help. It is greatly appreciated......well I am off to today's game a little better prepared to explain to the girls.
Thanks again....... |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|