![]() |
D3k
Although my login is still 12uparent, it has been a few years since I signed up to ask a question. Guess I should have thought a little more before picking that username.
This week...HS Junior Varsity game...NFHS rules....2 outs....dropped strike three. Batter is unfamiliar with the D3K rule and starts for dugout....gets about halfway to on-deck circle while defense is leaving the field (no play made). She is told to run to first....R1 (on first) heads for second. Base umpire comes running over and yells she is out "She committed toward the dugout". I think he was wrong...no real impact to the game...just want to be able to be sure the girls understand the rule correctly. I looked for other posts before initiating this thread and all I could find was: "NFHS Rule 8-2.4 states a batter-runner would be out if entering a team area after a batted fair ball, a base on balls, a hit batter, a dropped third strike, or catcher obstruction. " This is probably moot if there are any local rules that pertain but I don't know of any. Did the NFHS change the rule or is it still "entering a team area" and not simply walking in that direction regarding D3K? Thanks |
Looking at your scenario the umpire is wrong. Until a batter/runner or runner for that matter steps in to a "dugout or team bench area" they are considered to be a batter/runner. The comment he made about commiting sounds like something he made up on his own accord.
|
Also if she removes her helmet she is out. PS in case someone trys to say a lookback rule violation it isn't because batter-runner has not yet reached first.
|
Quote:
What Fed rule or ruling sez this? I could have sworn this resulted in a team & coach warning the first time with restriction the oenalty for further equipment violations. |
Quote:
|
"She committed toward the dugout"
This ump may not know the rules, but at least he knows to spout something that sounds like verbiage from the book or an official interpretation. He knows that if you're going to make up a rule, at least make up something that sounds convincing. You can almost see in it in print. Rule A, Section B, Part C, Subsection D-- The batter-runner is out if: After an uncaught third strike, he commits toward the dugout. But he's not the only one. I've had coaches insist that after an uncaught third strike, "one step toward the dugout and she's out." |
Isn't there a baseball ruling in one of their codes that states something like:
The batter-runner is out if they abandon their effort to advance to first by starting toward their dugout? That may explain what this umpire was thinking...... |
There was a change to OBR just this year regarding the uncaught third strike. The batter is to be declared when he leaves the "dirt circle" around home plate without intent to advance toward first base (ie: heads for the dugout).
To the best of my knowledge, this rule is in effect only in the professional ranks and has not yet filtered down to any amateur codes. |
Quote:
|
thanks
I just wanted to take a moment and say thanks to all of you for your help. It is greatly appreciated......well I am off to today's game a little better prepared to explain to the girls.
Thanks again....... |
Yep..forgot we were talking NFHS :D
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05am. |