The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 02, 2007, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
ASA sneaky stealing

ASA Fastpitch. I was thinking about this after seeing this play in MLB the other night on TV. Say R1 is on first base and the pitcher has the ball in the circle and she is just standing there behind the pitcher's plate. The F6 and F4 are kind of not paying attention and the R1 just breaks off the bag to 2nd and beat the F6 and F4 to the bag. Is this legal? Time out has never been called.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 02, 2007, 08:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkPSkins
ASA Fastpitch. I was thinking about this after seeing this play in MLB the other night on TV. Say R1 is on first base and the pitcher has the ball in the circle and she is just standing there behind the pitcher's plate. The F6 and F4 are kind of not paying attention and the R1 just breaks off the bag to 2nd and beat the F6 and F4 to the bag. Is this legal? Time out has never been called.
Legal? Yes. An effective play? No.

If the pitcher has the ball in the circle, as soon as R1 leaves the base, R1 is out on the Look-Back Rule. Time wouldn't be called, but the LBR is always in affect with the ball in the circle. No reason for F6 or F4 to pay attention.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 02, 2007, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
Ah, but doesn't the LBR entitle the runner to advance or retreat as long as they don't stop? I compare it to the base on balls when there is a runner on 3rd base and the runner just keeps going. the only difference here is that the runner was already on first base.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 02, 2007, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Once the runner stops at a base and the pitcher has the ball in the circle, if they come off they are out on LBR. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 02, 2007, 10:38am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
ASA 8.7.T
The “Look Back” rule will be in effect for all runners when the ball is live, the
batter-runner has touched first base or has been declared out, and the pitcher has possession and control of the ball within the pitcher’s circle. The pitcher is considered to be in the pitcher’s circle when both feet are on or within the lines.

2. Once the runner stops at a base for any reason, the runner will be declared out if leaving the base.
Pretty simple to understand...perhaps if you read page 118, you can better understand the rule.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 02, 2007, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
Sorry, I am not an umpire nor in possession of page 118. Which is why I asked this question. I know you guys don't get into the philosphy of the rules but really it seems silly that one can run through the base while the pitcher has the ball in the circle, but you cannot leave from the bag when the ball is in the circle.

Aside:

Quote:
Pretty simple to understand...perhaps if you read page 118, you can better understand the rule.
But anyways, thanks for your smug and somewhat condesending reply. Because we all know how simple it is to understand the rule book even when you consider that they had to write an entirely separate book (case book) to explain it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 02, 2007, 08:14am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkPSkins
ASA Fastpitch. I was thinking about this after seeing this play in MLB the other night on TV. Say R1 is on first base and the pitcher has the ball in the circle and she is just standing there behind the pitcher's plate. The F6 and F4 are kind of not paying attention and the R1 just breaks off the bag to 2nd and beat the F6 and F4 to the bag. Is this legal? Time out has never been called.

That was a definite "brain fart" by the defense in that one! Had Escobar (I think it was him) not taken 2B he would have never scored, and tied the game in the top of the ninth. VERY alert baserunning from the kid. Even though that is rare, it can work in little ball because there is no requirement for maintaining base contact.

In fastpitch, once the pitcher has control of the ball in the circle, the runner(s) must stay on the base, or be called out. It is automatic. If the pitcher however is OUT of the circle, runners can go.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
stealing home scyguy Baseball 13 Mon Sep 20, 2004 09:53am
Stealing in SP greymule Softball 20 Mon Jun 28, 2004 10:37am
Stealing third Jay R Baseball 2 Tue Aug 19, 2003 03:03am
Stealing? in ASA 10U sprivitor Softball 4 Sun May 11, 2003 03:52pm
ASA SP Stealing Ricejock Softball 4 Sun Jul 14, 2002 11:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1