The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 16, 2007, 01:52pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
[QUOTE=DaveASA/FED] So the question....Is there any rule set where you can redesignate the DP once the game has started???

QUOTE]

Here is a rather odd one where it might be possible.

In a GRPA (GA rec) "MITE" (10U) State this weekend I was UIC. GRPA uses ASA based play, with a few addendums. One had to do with the shorthanded rule. The ruling uses the ASA shorthanded ruling until (due to injury) a team drops to 7 players. The team can then enter any player on the bench (burned sub) to bring the number back to 8. The DP/FLEX was being used, so I would have allowed the re-designation IF a team had dropped to 7.

This actually came into question in one game where a bee sting took an F5 out. This team was using the DP/FLEX, and wanted to enter a sub in another spot to avoid playing shorthanded. The intent of the GRPA ruling is to avoid a forfeit I'm sure, but it was a bit difficult for some of the rec directors to understand it.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1