View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 16, 2007, 01:52pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
[QUOTE=DaveASA/FED] So the question....Is there any rule set where you can redesignate the DP once the game has started???

QUOTE]

Here is a rather odd one where it might be possible.

In a GRPA (GA rec) "MITE" (10U) State this weekend I was UIC. GRPA uses ASA based play, with a few addendums. One had to do with the shorthanded rule. The ruling uses the ASA shorthanded ruling until (due to injury) a team drops to 7 players. The team can then enter any player on the bench (burned sub) to bring the number back to 8. The DP/FLEX was being used, so I would have allowed the re-designation IF a team had dropped to 7.

This actually came into question in one game where a bee sting took an F5 out. This team was using the DP/FLEX, and wanted to enter a sub in another spot to avoid playing shorthanded. The intent of the GRPA ruling is to avoid a forfeit I'm sure, but it was a bit difficult for some of the rec directors to understand it.
Reply With Quote