The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2002, 07:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
The rule concerning an intentionally dropped ball applies only to infielders, so scratch it for this play.

If F8 is ruled to have caught the ball, that is out one. If the throw to 1B is judged by the umpire as an appeal by the defense (and I would want to see something to indicate that was the cause of the throw), that would be out two. The appeal to 3B is out three.

If no appeal is ruled at 1B, and if R2 hasn't left playable territory by the time the defense is ready to continue play, I will stop everything and put the runner back on 1B. However, odds are s/he will have entered dead-ball territory and the inning is over.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1