The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 30, 2007, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
IMO, you did the right thing; you called only your area, you observed the rest to give help. When the play is over, I assume you and your partner met to sort it out and determine what calls needed to be made or announced. That was the time to address the tag of R2, between the two of you. It became a moot point, since the defense then made another play to retire R2; and you noted R2 didn't run after out to draw that play, so no further penalty.

If the defense had not made the second play on R2, and had thrown to 3rd base to attempt to retire R1, or if F3 had stepped on 1st (removing the force), then you would have had to tell your BU that s/he must announce the out on R2 when you come out of this meeting. Then let BU explain to the offensive coaches (who will certainly then ask) why the runner wasn't called out immediately.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1