The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 29, 2007, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
A little story for you...

ISA 14U Tournament this weekend. Winner's bracket semi-final game. Bases loaded, one out. BR hits the ball. I happen to have a camera focused on the batter at this particular at-bat, and by the time I focus on the action, F6 is on the ground, ball is being scooped up by F7, R2 is running in a somewhat peculiar fashion towards 3B and the BU has his arm out. R1 scores, R3 reaches 2B and BR reaches 1B (becoming R4 with all rights an privileges attached thereto, including... never mind).

Anyway, umpire calls R2 out for interference by running into the fielding F6. All other play stands. Before the next batter both OC come out to talk to the umps in front of where I'm sitting. I sit there and listen while the umpire explains that it was a delayed dead ball call for interference. He said a lot of other similar and related pompus sounding things while I sat there attempting to keep a straight face. The coaches nodded their heads sagely and went back to their dugout.

Knowing R2, I don't think she deliberately hit F6 to prevent the double play, so I don't think R3 (or R1) should have been called out (ISA 8.8.b, second part). What had me scratching my head was why the arm was out. I kept waiting to see how in the world he was going to sell OBS on what looked to me to be a clear cut interference.

Shouldn't the dead ball have been immediately? (ISA 9.1.K)

Should R1 have been sent back to 3B? (I don't know how good a jump R1 had on the pitch and whether F6 could have thown home in time to get the force.)

I wait to bask the glow of your superior understanding...
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 29, 2007, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
The arm was out because the umpire was signalling delayed dead ball (which is what the arm out is for - it is NOT a signal that always means OBS, but it DOES always mean DDB).

He was signalling DDB because he apparently thought interference is a DDB. It isn't. It is an immediate dead ball. It doesn't matter about intent here, since F6 is attempting to field a batted ball. R2 needs to stay out of her way.

The proper call probably would have been dead ball, R2 out, R1 returns to 3B, BR on 1B, which forces R3 to 2B. So, 2 outs, bases still loaded, no score on the play.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 29, 2007, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
The arm was out because the umpire was signalling delayed dead ball (which is what the arm out is for - it is NOT a signal that always means OBS, but it DOES always mean DDB).
I understand that "the arm" means DDB, not OBS. However, I figured if INT, then it should be immedate dead ball, so if DDB maybe he's seen OBS?

Not to mention the wishful thinking since my daughter is on the batting team, this is a tough team we're playing and we need every base runner we can get.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 29, 2007, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
You may not have gotten a free runner, but you got a free run!! R1 was allowed to score, when she should have been returned to 3rd on the dead ball interference.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 29, 2007, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
I can't think of a thing to add, so I'll just razz a little.
How did you know "what looked to me to be a clear cut interference" when "by the time I focus on the action, F6 is on the ground, ball is being scooped up by F7"
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2007, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by CesilOne
How did you know...
Because, given the definitions, I can't think of a situation where F6 could have obstructed the runner trying to play a ground ball...
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sad, sad story Dan_ref Basketball 6 Fri Apr 07, 2006 01:11pm
Just a story CK Basketball 31 Mon Feb 03, 2003 05:34pm
Just A Story whiskers_ump Softball 5 Sun Mar 17, 2002 11:19pm
just a story. devdog69 Basketball 1 Mon Dec 17, 2001 12:38pm
A Story bluezebra Baseball 3 Mon Aug 14, 2000 01:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1