The arm was out because the umpire was signalling delayed dead ball (which is what the arm out is for - it is NOT a signal that always means OBS, but it DOES always mean DDB).
He was signalling DDB because he apparently thought interference is a DDB. It isn't. It is an immediate dead ball. It doesn't matter about intent here, since F6 is attempting to field a batted ball. R2 needs to stay out of her way.
The proper call probably would have been dead ball, R2 out, R1 returns to 3B, BR on 1B, which forces R3 to 2B. So, 2 outs, bases still loaded, no score on the play.
__________________
Tom
|