![]() |
|
|
|||
Poor syntax by the rule writer, but the OR clause is to cover the case where the base the runner would have achieved is the first base of the two bases between which the obstruction occurred, so it means she has to ALSO be beyond those two bases, not just beyond the base she would have achieved.
8-5-B-2 covers the general case of not reaching the base she would have acheived before being put out.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Don't feel bad, Dukat. The first time I read that rule, I read it the same (wrong) way and thought the same thing. Then I read it again and again and realized my mistake, and came to what mcrowder and Dakota were saying. Slow your reading down.
My confusion on this rule should come as no surprise to those who have read my previous posts on obstruction. ![]()
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Agreed, poor syntax. But, what else is new when it comes to language and rule books?
If you felt, at the time the OBS occurred, that the runner would have achieved home, then by all means award the runner home.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Obstruction Clarification | njdevs00cup | Baseball | 9 | Fri May 18, 2007 08:20pm |
NCAA Mens Kick Ball Rule Clarification Needed | mtbabo | Basketball | 28 | Wed Jan 24, 2007 03:40pm |
Clarification needed on Encroachment vs Ilegal Motion | WyMike | Football | 17 | Tue Sep 14, 2004 09:17pm |
Clarification needed | Paul LeBoutillier | Basketball | 5 | Sun Jan 27, 2002 01:43am |
Clarification Needed..... | whiskers_ump | Softball | 2 | Mon Jun 04, 2001 10:40am |