![]() |
|
|
|||
Missed Base
Another play from our ASA Clinic.
Runner one is attempting to score on a base hit. She misses third base on her way to the plate and then is caught in a rundown. As she heads back to third she is obstructed. The umpire awards her third base. Can a subsequent appeal that she missed third base be successful? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
In fact ... if the award was HOME, the runner is allowed to return to third, touch it, and then go home ... in which case the appeal of the miss at third would not be successful.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Quote:
A number of umpires attending were skeptical and, before the answer was given, thought the appeal should be granted. But, as the ASA rules representative pointed out, the runner missing third base while heading for home is irrelevant to the facts of the play. The runner was attempting to make third base. It does not matter that he/she missed touching it. He/she was obstructed trying to make third base. The award would is the same as if she was obstructed between second and third. As to the second part of your answer I dont agree. If the runner is awarded home he/she is not automatically given the chance or opportunity to go back to third and then trot home. I would call the runner out on an appeal at third. I don't think the rules permit the runner to retouch missed bases when the ball is dead. If I am wrong please show me the rule. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
RS #1. Appeals.C.1,2 & D.3&NOTE
Rule 8.5.G.2 When a ball is ruled dead, runners must be given the opportunity to complete their running assignments prior to the umpire accepting any appeals or make any awards
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Missed Base or Nothing? | mrm21711 | Baseball | 1 | Sun May 01, 2005 09:56pm |
HR, missed base | Jay R | Baseball | 18 | Tue May 13, 2003 02:38pm |
FED - Missed base | PeteBooth | Baseball | 2 | Tue Oct 01, 2002 03:33pm |
Missed base | Robert G | Baseball | 4 | Mon Aug 20, 2001 12:31pm |
Missed base | David Van Milligen | Baseball | 14 | Wed May 16, 2001 12:35pm |