The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 19, 2001, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Speaking ASA

Tie ball game with 2 outs UNLESS the umpire's rule that F3's intention was to confuse the defense. To determine that, I would have had to be there, witnessed the call and understand that the runner was aware of the call. The rule says that a runner continuing to run MAY be considered a form of interference, didn't say the umpire MUST rule interference.

F9 never left playable territory while in possession of the ball according to the scenario. However, even if F9 held the ball, a collapsed fence is NOT considered DBT. For the ball to be ruled dead at this point, F9 would have had to have an entire part of her body (foot, hand, shoulder, umpire's descretion) completely off the collapsed fence and in DBT for the umpire to rule the ball dead.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1