The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 10, 2001, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Sitch:

The bases are loaded, there is one out. B5 hits a line
drive to the fence. R1 and R2 score with ease. R3 is
chunked at the plate. [2 outs]. B5 goes to 3rd, but has
missed 1B. A proper appeal is made. Since the appeal was
upheld, would any of the runs count?
No. ASA 5-5-B-1
No run shall be scored if the third out of the inning is the result of a batter-runner begin called out prior to reaching first base or any other runner forced out due to the batter becoming a batter-runner.

ASA POE #1-J
If an appeal is honored at a base to which a runner was forced to advance and the out is a force out, no runs would score it is was the third out.

Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Also, would the play still be considered a force, since
base was missed and properly appealed?
Yes, I think so. In any case, it is still considered an out on the batter-runner at 1B, so the same rules apply.

Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Have not tried to locate in case book, however, I do believe that POE #38 agrees that I am correct.
It does.

ASA POE 38

A run will not score if the third out of an inning is a putout a first base (batter-runner)...


Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1