![]() |
|
|||
|
{QUOTE}
I just read Becky Davidson's article entitled "Understanding the Infield Fly Rule". In it, she makes many great points. However, it seems that her article does not address one of the most perplexing situations that oten occurs in softball: Situation: R1 and R2, less than 2 outs. High, short fly hit behind F3. F3 back peddles and is ready to make an easy catch about 30 feet behind the baseline and well into fair territory. Just then, she is called off by F9 who was playing quite shallow anyway. F3 yields to F9 who also makes an easy play of it. __________________________________________________ ________ David, This is JMO, but in softball F3 is almost always up in front of 1B. You stated that F9 was playing shallow, but not stationed in the infield. Because of this statement I feel that F3 would have been more towards HP than usual. Therefore, if a ball is hit 30' behind the baseline, then F3 is making more than ordinary effort to get there. In your post or {Becky's}, whoevers, I think I would have to HBT to view and call this as an infield fly. OMO. glen
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|