The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 08:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Maybe I'm seeing something different than all of you, but it seems pretty straight forward, and "true" to me. Batter is out on the infield fly, and R2 is out on interference with a batted ball which has not passed (assumably) an infielder (F4) with an opportunity to make a play on that batted ball (remember, if R2 is about 20 feet from 1B, than one should be able to assume a high school age infielder can field that ball after it has hung in the air long enough to be judged an infield fly). R2 has no protection from interfering with an infield fly, caught or not; and apparently did. Two outs.

The ASA case play exception relates to a runner who stays on the base; that runner cannot be required to leave the base to put herself in jeopardy, when the fielder doesn't need to make play on the IFF; batter is already out. In this play, R2 has put herself in jeopardy by running; and cannot thenm interfere with the fielder's opportunity to get the 2nd out.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1