The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 17, 2001, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
I haven't seen either article, so I can't comment on the specific articles. However...

My ASA book doesn't use the word "control."

Between the rule (8-8-T) and the POE (29) it uses the phrase "has the ball" 6 times, "has possession of the ball" 1 time, "receives the ball" 1 time, "in possession of the ball" 1 time, and "holds the ball" 1 time.

Once the lookback rule is in effect, the runner is released if the pitcher a) makes a play; b) drops the ball; c) leaves the circle; or d) pitches the ball. I don't see where it says the pitcher must have the ball in her hands, and holding the ball with her knees is not any of the things that will release the runners.

Are both authors using the same rules? Other codes may differ from ASA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1